Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Quick and easy way to good frosting. I see some others here saying it taste more like butter than frosting. I didn't have that problem. I used unsalted butter, 1 1/2 cups of confectioners' sugar, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and it turned out great. Keep in mind, it's important to whip for the full 10 minutes. This is a good recipe, just needs a little adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I used 1 and 1/2 cups of butter-that was still too much. I agree that it must be a typo. Great frosting, just use two sticks (one cup unsalted) I flavored one with almond extract..was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Yummy!!! This is my new frosting recipe 2nd time - had to through it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is an easy recipe to follow. I only used 1 stick of butter, and about 1 Tbs of Heavy Cream and between 1/4 & 1/2 cup of powered sugar. It does have a strong butter flavor which is ok with my mom as she loves butter. I think it is too buttery and I would add more sugar if it was for me. It was for my mom for Mothers Day, so less sugar and more butter flavor this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
If I could rate this with more stars I would! the first time I halved the recipe, thinking I'd have enough for 24 cupcakes... sadly I did not. It iced about 12 (heavily) the only think I did differently than the recipe stated was I added about a teaspoon of vanilla. This is my go to icing recipe from now on. The ten minute whipping is the key, and unsalted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
We tried it on Christmas cookies this year AFTER trying a flop recipe. Thanks for saving the day it was fabulous and so yummy...adults and kids alike raved over the cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah
Home Town: Brinkley, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
excellent BUT please follow directions. This requires a lot of beating otherwise it is not successful. Like most things, the results are worth it..............not too sweet or cloying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Yummy! I made mine yellow for a lacrosse ball cake and it was fab! Tasty and easy to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States