Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
This is the same recipe I have, but she's right--it's all in the technique! I whipped it the full 10 minutes and it made a world of difference! Give it a try, it's well worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
I dind't care for this buttercream. It was more like whipped butter than frosting. I even added much more powdered sugar and it was still bearly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Futuregirlzone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Used this on an apple cake recipe; it got rave reviews from everyone who tried it. My husband said, "This is SO creamy and not overly sweet-- must mean it's bad for me..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I used this frosting on a dark chocolate cake, and it was wonderful. It's certainly not for those who want a quick fix, but the extra time and effort is worth it, as the final result is a lovely frosting. I was worried that it wouldn't feel nice in my mouth since the consistency is that of whipped butter, but to avoid that, I just added some granulated sugar and about a teaspooon of flour to give it a grainy feel. I did, however, have to add a wee bit more sugar than the recipe originally called for, but thats probably just due to my sweet tooth! All in all, its a lovely recipe--great for any cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This tasted more like butter than frosting. I whipped the butter for more than 10 minutes and added at least 4 times the required amount of sugar and it still just tasted like whipped butter. I definately will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This is the best frosting I have ever tasted. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and an extra 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. Great on Chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
I TRIED THIS BECAUSE I WAS DESPERATE FOR A FROSTING THAT ISN'T TOO SWEET. I WOULD HAVE TO AGREE THAT THE TEXTURE IS MARVELOUS, BUT IT DOES TASTE MORE LIKE BUTTER THAN FROSTING. SUGGESTION: MAKE WITH UNSALTED BUTTER ONLY. WOULD THE SAME RECIPE WORK, CHANGING THE RATION OF BUTTER TO CREAM--LESS BUTTER, MORE CREAM?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This recipe is very creamy, but it just tastes like pure butter. I added about 1 1/2 extra cups of powdered sugar, and it still tasted too buttery to me, and my roommate and fiancé both agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I have been using this recipe for a little while now on all my cakes. My family loves the taste. I dislike shortening based frostings. The fact that I can control the sugar is nice. I use a little more sugar for kids cakes and less for adults. You can flavor to your liking as well. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
It tasted like butter to me. I might use this on quick breads but not for a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States