Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. I bought fresh butter and cream just for it. I don't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
As some other posters have recommended, I did use unsalted butter and whipped it for the full 10 minutes, probably more, and it still tasted like whipped butter. I ended up adding about 4 times the recommended amount of sugar plus 2 tsp of vanilla and it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
It tasted like pure butter no matter how much extra whipped cream or sugar I added. Even my boyfriend, who will eat anything, disliked it. I was making a cake for a birthday at work tomorrow, and this frosting ruined the whole cake, and now I have nothing to bring in tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
It does take some time to make, but we LOVED it. The best frosting I have ever tasted. Must use unsalted butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Ultimately, on the cake, this frosting had a wonderfully light texture, but it was way too buttery for my family's tastes. Because it's real butter, it doesn't leave a filmy residue in your mouth, but even with unsalted butter and more sugar than the recipe called for, it was just too much butter. I don't bake many cakes---maybe three a year for our family birthdays---so when I do bake, I don't take shortcuts, and I don't mind the indulgence, but again, this recipe kind of "takes the cake," if you can pardon the pun. It was difficult for me to enjoy, even once I got past the butter consistency, knowing how much butter and heavy cream I was eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This IS like "licking a stick of butter," as one reviewer wrote! 2 cups of butter is a lot of butter. I would never recommend this recipe. Was the "2 cups of butter" a typo? It should be 2/3 cup of butter at most!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Nice texture resulting in a pretty and very easy to use frosting, but agree with others in that it is just too buttery. My husband described it as "a bit like licking a stick of butter", but he ate every last cupcake so who can complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Totally worth the time and effort. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
It just tasted like butter. Stick with the traditional buttercream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Baketrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
very good in our eight layer cake! spread very thin in between layers gave it a rich delicious taste. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States