Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This recipe worked out very well for me. I ave a Kitchenaid mixer and was able to drop it in and go. Very easy. I might use unsalted butter next time because the salt taste was a little too preminent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I had to add a LOT more sugar to this recipe. It was too buttery to spread on my cake. I ended up adding one bar of hot melted giradelli bittersweet chocolate and it came out great, but I felt like a mad scientist trying to get it to a spreadable consistency adding water, cocoa, sugar, and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this frosting. You must use unsalted butter, and vanilla or some other flavoring. For all the posters that complain about the buttery taste, it is called BUTTERcream for a reason; it is supposed to taste like butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaronruby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I loved this recipe! The frosting reminds me of fine pastry shop buttercream. It does what frosting is supposed to do support and show off the cake! FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This recipe was very delicious. My only problem with it is that it took me a couple of tries to get it right. Make sure you let the butter beat for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
It came out too mushy using butter alone with the heavy whipping cream and 10X [confectioners' sugar]. I'm inclined to stick (no pun intended) to just butter, milk, 10x, and flavoring. I've found it best to use equal amounts of butter AND shortening to avoid that buttery taste. IT WORKS PEOPLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Unless you like eating a stick of butter on your cake I would not make this frosting. I think there must be a typo, I added 1/2 butter to 1 cup sugar and 1 cup cream and this came out really well, I also added some vanilla essence to give it some flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
As a cake designer and baker I found this recipe to be one I will use over and over again! I have tested many and this tastes and looks like an authentic Italian buttercream...but with less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. I bought fresh butter and cream just for it. I don't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
As some other posters have recommended, I did use unsalted butter and whipped it for the full 10 minutes, probably more, and it still tasted like whipped butter. I ended up adding about 4 times the recommended amount of sugar plus 2 tsp of vanilla and it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States