Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Like eatting butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
If you make this don't use salted butter otherwise it just tastes like whipped butter. I actually ended up using about 3 cups of powdered sugar because otherwise it just tasted like butter. I was aiming for a light buttercream frosting. Next time I will make traditional buttercream frosting, then whip some cream and fold them together to get the lighter texture I want. I ended up adding 2 TBSP. cocoa powder and 1/2 cup of powdered peanut butter to make give it a pleasant taste and mask some of the butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaychee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I had to review this. Here's the scoop -- fresh out of the mixer, this is one of the most incredible whippy happy goodness icings I've ever eaten. It has an incredible fluffly texture and is rich and decadent. I put a 1/2 tsp of almond extract for flavoring, and I couldn't keep the family away from it. However, once the icing has been refrigerated, due to the high butter content, it is hard and the flavor does swing over to the "butter lightly flavored with sugar" taste. Not to say that it's bad, but when cold, it is "peelable" off the cake. The solution? Let it warm up to room temp before you serve the cake again, and voila, you have happy whippy goodness again. I think perhaps the difference in taste/texture after refrigeration is why you have the varied hate/love for this recipe. As written is it really good and fluffy. Great icing! Its just not something I think is at its best when served cold. I so wanna try this with a little bit of orange zest on a lightly orange flavored cake! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by e.noell2692
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I honestly don't understand how everyone seems to have a problem with this frosting. It is excellent. I do agree with some of the reviews that it is a base icing and flavor definitely needs to be added. After whipping for 10 minutes and even more for 4 minutes; it came out with perfect consistency. I cut the recipe in half and used unsalted butter. I also added an extra half cup of powdered sugar. Good luck to all those, I feel everyone should try it once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e.noell2692

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I have been searching for a light frosting that I could decorate with for my friend's wedding cake. She despises sweet frosting and this was it. Easy to make, easy to spread and held up well although I'm happy it wasn't a summer wedding with a lot of heat. I used unsalted butter, added a tsp of vanilla and didn't find the taste to be too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This was amazing! I used it on some cupcakes. Thanks to those who put in their own secrets, it did not come out tasting like butter. I did 2 cups unsalted butter and added a tsp of vanilla extract and the full cup of sugar. Came out smooth and tasted like whipped cream! Thank you for sharing. This is now my frosting of choice. Highly recommend a stand alone mixer for this so you can move about while waiting for the butter to fluff. it really does take 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I can't figure out why there are so many good reviews for this recipe. I made it, as instructed, whipping the butter for ten minutes added the cream and then the sugar and it when I put some on my finger to taste it, it was as if I had bit into a stick of butter. I ended up using the entire container of cream and then adding several more cups of sugar before it was even remotely better. Then milk and more sugar once I ran out of cream. Should have stuck with what I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I wish I could give this recipe 3.5 stars, but I'll round up because I learned some valuable lessons from this frosting. It did end up tasting good (after adding a lot more sugar) and spread very nicely. I followed the recipe precisely, and guess what? It tasted like butter. I love butter as much as the next person, but I don't want to smear a stick of it on my cake, and that's what it tasted like. I ended up adding about 3x the amount of sugar the recipe called for. I don't fault the recipe for that ... I understand that not everyone wants a sweet frosting (and some people may want to smear butter on their cakes). So, what did I learn? If I want a light and fluffy buttercream, make REAL Italian buttercream. And, if I add a decent amount of heavy cream to my usual all-butter buttercream recipe (which I feel is way too heavy), I'll have a much lighter and better tasting frosting. I probably won't use this exact receipe again, but I'll follow the techniques in my buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this frosting with my 4 year old nephews and it was very easy, but it just tasted like straight butter. I used half of the recommended amount of butter and added lots more sugar and vanilla but it still did not take away from the butter taste. I could not get my nephews or my husband to eat a full cookie with this frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
It is absolutely delicious if you add more sugar. As it is the frosting tasted too much like eating butter. I tripled the sugar and it received adult raves at my daughter's birthday party. I was also really impressed that it came out very white just like decorating frosting but with better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States