Creamy Brown Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this today for the first time. The changes I made were the usual 1/2 cup sugar only because my partner is always adding Splenda, honey or maple syrup to everything. I also sprinkled the top of the serving bowls with cinnamon/sugar before refrigeraton and did add 1/2 cup of raisins. We had it for dessert this evening, he had his with maple syrup and vanilla ice cream, I had a splash of cream and a drizzle of honey. The flavor was delicious and my partner couldn't stop raving about how good it was (between every mouthful.) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
DELISH! I started with leftover brown rice (already cooked) and added 1pt. whipping cream and 3/4 c. water. This rice pudding turned out amazing. Love, love, love the almond extract addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buttterfly092782
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe is great. I want to eat more rice but was skeptical about eating rice pudding then the fact that is would have brown rice. I replaced the 2 cups milk with unsweetened silk vanilla almond milk, used the 2% can of evaporated milk, added a finely cut banana, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, added one cup of raisins and used 2 tbsp of regular cinnamon- what a treat! I love it and can hardly stay away from it. I believe that my version is just a few calories less which is good cause I did this for my brown rice diet. It gets you full fast, which is just what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This turned out great! Though, I cut the sugar in half and still found it plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
very good creamy whole grain yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
For me this is five stars with half the sugar. Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe was great as far as amounts go. I did make a few adjustments, I used 2 cups of skim milk and then 1 can of the evaporated milk. I added vanilla extract, brown sugar and a bit of maple syrup. I also added some allspice, just b/c I like it spicy. Give it a whirl, you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I didn't expect such a wonderful final product. It's rice pudding, after all. I wasn't trying to re-invent the wheel. The only change I made was using half as much sugar and adding 3/4 t ground cinnamon instead of a cinnamon stick. It was "to live for". I've made it a couple of times now for a friend who is recovering in his home after major surgery. He says it has the same comfort factor as custard. Eats a bowl for breakfast some mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is probably the best rice pudding recipe I've come across. It reminds me of my grandmothers recipe. I ran out of skim milk so I supplemented with half and half (1 cup milk, 1 cup half & half) and only used 3/4 cup sugar. I didnt have cinnamon sticks so I used a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon. Turned out great! Also, I cooked the rice the night before to save on time and it worked great. I just warmed it up in the microwave before adding it to the milk mixture on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Your yummy, creamy recipe silenced the skeptics in my family!! They loooved it!! It's a keeper, for sure :)))) Thanks for sharing it, Diane! I used a rice cooker and followed the directions at step #2, but substituted fat free 1/2 & 1/2 for the evap. milk and it came out delicious. Only had to stir it for about 30 mins. Loooved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States