Creamy Brown Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is so good. It is nutty because of the brown rice. I didn't change a thing. I eat it breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
The flavor is wonderful; HOWEVER, I followed the recipe carefully, and it never reached a pudding stage. Cook brown rice at least 2X/ week, so am familiar with it. Now I've got a pot of good tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Used brown jasmine rice - quicker cooking than regular. Added one egg, 1/2 cup brown sugar, raisins, and vanilla instead of almond extract. Results were DELISH! And it was all finished in about 75 minutes total. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjaneschmidt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very good. But I really wish I would have read the reviews first and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Buttterfly092782
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe is great. I want to eat more rice but was skeptical about eating rice pudding then the fact that is would have brown rice. I replaced the 2 cups milk with unsweetened silk vanilla almond milk, used the 2% can of evaporated milk, added a finely cut banana, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, added one cup of raisins and used 2 tbsp of regular cinnamon- what a treat! I love it and can hardly stay away from it. I believe that my version is just a few calories less which is good cause I did this for my brown rice diet. It gets you full fast, which is just what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this today for the first time. The changes I made were the usual 1/2 cup sugar only because my partner is always adding Splenda, honey or maple syrup to everything. I also sprinkled the top of the serving bowls with cinnamon/sugar before refrigeraton and did add 1/2 cup of raisins. We had it for dessert this evening, he had his with maple syrup and vanilla ice cream, I had a splash of cream and a drizzle of honey. The flavor was delicious and my partner couldn't stop raving about how good it was (between every mouthful.) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Giving this four stars only because it takes such a VERY long time to turn into pudding consistency. Part of that could be that I was using regular milk (but less liquid than the recipe called for). I started out with some cooked brown rice I had leftover from dinner the night before. I used 3 cups of rice to begin with, and after about 90 minutes, I added another cup and a half of rice. This was finally finished close to 3 hours after I started cooking it. It did turn out tasty, but way more high maintenance than I expected rice pudding to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is good, but it isn't rice pudding or a custard. It is arroz con leche. Milk and rice and sweeteners. My grandmother's rice pudding recipe has eggs and butter, so I think I am just being spoiled by that. It is good, but it definitly lacks the fat/flavor of a genuine rice pudding. A great option for going lite, though. Also, to prevent it from getting crazy thick, stop cooking it before it gets pudding thick; it will thicken up as it cools some more. If you miss the mark and cook until pudding thick, I like to just stir in extra milk once it comes out of the fridge to get it back to a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I got impatient after about 40 minutes and added an egg to thicken it (tempered before stirring into hot mixture). Reduced sugar to 3/4 c. as other reviewers suggested--definitely still sweet pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
added raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States