Creamy Brown Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
For me this is five stars with half the sugar. Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Your yummy, creamy recipe silenced the skeptics in my family!! They loooved it!! It's a keeper, for sure :)))) Thanks for sharing it, Diane! I used a rice cooker and followed the directions at step #2, but substituted fat free 1/2 & 1/2 for the evap. milk and it came out delicious. Only had to stir it for about 30 mins. Loooved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe was great as far as amounts go. I did make a few adjustments, I used 2 cups of skim milk and then 1 can of the evaporated milk. I added vanilla extract, brown sugar and a bit of maple syrup. I also added some allspice, just b/c I like it spicy. Give it a whirl, you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbezanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is probably the best rice pudding recipe I've come across. It reminds me of my grandmothers recipe. I ran out of skim milk so I supplemented with half and half (1 cup milk, 1 cup half & half) and only used 3/4 cup sugar. I didnt have cinnamon sticks so I used a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon. Turned out great! Also, I cooked the rice the night before to save on time and it worked great. I just warmed it up in the microwave before adding it to the milk mixture on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I didn't expect such a wonderful final product. It's rice pudding, after all. I wasn't trying to re-invent the wheel. The only change I made was using half as much sugar and adding 3/4 t ground cinnamon instead of a cinnamon stick. It was "to live for". I've made it a couple of times now for a friend who is recovering in his home after major surgery. He says it has the same comfort factor as custard. Eats a bowl for breakfast some mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
DELISH! I started with leftover brown rice (already cooked) and added 1pt. whipping cream and 3/4 c. water. This rice pudding turned out amazing. Love, love, love the almond extract addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This turned out great! Though, I cut the sugar in half and still found it plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
very good creamy whole grain yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this today for the first time. The changes I made were the usual 1/2 cup sugar only because my partner is always adding Splenda, honey or maple syrup to everything. I also sprinkled the top of the serving bowls with cinnamon/sugar before refrigeraton and did add 1/2 cup of raisins. We had it for dessert this evening, he had his with maple syrup and vanilla ice cream, I had a splash of cream and a drizzle of honey. The flavor was delicious and my partner couldn't stop raving about how good it was (between every mouthful.) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buttterfly092782
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe is great. I want to eat more rice but was skeptical about eating rice pudding then the fact that is would have brown rice. I replaced the 2 cups milk with unsweetened silk vanilla almond milk, used the 2% can of evaporated milk, added a finely cut banana, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, added one cup of raisins and used 2 tbsp of regular cinnamon- what a treat! I love it and can hardly stay away from it. I believe that my version is just a few calories less which is good cause I did this for my brown rice diet. It gets you full fast, which is just what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States