Creamy Brown Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This turned out pretty tasty! I substituted some ingredients. Instead of 2 cups of milk, I used one 15 oz can of GOYA coconut milk. I didn't have any almond extract so I used pure vanilla extract. Next time I make this I will divide recipe in half because 2 cups of uncooked rice yields a lot of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I didn't expect such a wonderful final product. It's rice pudding, after all. I wasn't trying to re-invent the wheel. The only change I made was using half as much sugar and adding 3/4 t ground cinnamon instead of a cinnamon stick. It was "to live for". I've made it a couple of times now for a friend who is recovering in his home after major surgery. He says it has the same comfort factor as custard. Eats a bowl for breakfast some mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I cut down the cooking time by boiling the rice covered on medium heat for 30 minutes. I kept all the ingredients the same, except used 3/4 c sugar. It was fantastic! Just like Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is delish! For anyone following a diebetic diet, the brown rice is always a better choice. I used 1/2 cup of honey. Honey takes longer to digest, again, better for your diet. I also added raisins, also used fat free evaporated milk and skim milk. You won't notice the lack of fat. I also took a readers idea for ground cinnamon. This really is one of those I will use forever...thank you for your recipe Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
DELISH! I started with leftover brown rice (already cooked) and added 1pt. whipping cream and 3/4 c. water. This rice pudding turned out amazing. Love, love, love the almond extract addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This turned out great! Though, I cut the sugar in half and still found it plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I used ground cinnamon instead of a cinnamon stick, vanilla instead of almond extract, and instead of the evaporated milk I increased the regular milk and added some heavy cream. This takes a long time but it is worth it. I'm not a big fan of brown rice but this is a way I will gladly eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
For me this is five stars with half the sugar. Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is good, but it isn't rice pudding or a custard. It is arroz con leche. Milk and rice and sweeteners. My grandmother's rice pudding recipe has eggs and butter, so I think I am just being spoiled by that. It is good, but it definitly lacks the fat/flavor of a genuine rice pudding. A great option for going lite, though. Also, to prevent it from getting crazy thick, stop cooking it before it gets pudding thick; it will thicken up as it cools some more. If you miss the mark and cook until pudding thick, I like to just stir in extra milk once it comes out of the fridge to get it back to a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend who loves rice pudding. But the best compliment he offered was "this tastes like rice pudding." The evaporated milk gives this recipe an odd taste. If I were to use this technique again I'd use half and half for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States