Creamy Brown Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This turned out pretty tasty! I substituted some ingredients. Instead of 2 cups of milk, I used one 15 oz can of GOYA coconut milk. I didn't have any almond extract so I used pure vanilla extract. Next time I make this I will divide recipe in half because 2 cups of uncooked rice yields a lot of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I cut down the cooking time by boiling the rice covered on medium heat for 30 minutes. I kept all the ingredients the same, except used 3/4 c sugar. It was fantastic! Just like Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This turned out great! Though, I cut the sugar in half and still found it plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
very good creamy whole grain yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Mmmm.... surprisingly good! I love rice pudding :) I think next time I'll use vanilla extract instead. I liked the almond, but I like vanilla better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
For me this is five stars with half the sugar. Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe was great as far as amounts go. I did make a few adjustments, I used 2 cups of skim milk and then 1 can of the evaporated milk. I added vanilla extract, brown sugar and a bit of maple syrup. I also added some allspice, just b/c I like it spicy. Give it a whirl, you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I didn't expect such a wonderful final product. It's rice pudding, after all. I wasn't trying to re-invent the wheel. The only change I made was using half as much sugar and adding 3/4 t ground cinnamon instead of a cinnamon stick. It was "to live for". I've made it a couple of times now for a friend who is recovering in his home after major surgery. He says it has the same comfort factor as custard. Eats a bowl for breakfast some mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend who loves rice pudding. But the best compliment he offered was "this tastes like rice pudding." The evaporated milk gives this recipe an odd taste. If I were to use this technique again I'd use half and half for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is delish! For anyone following a diebetic diet, the brown rice is always a better choice. I used 1/2 cup of honey. Honey takes longer to digest, again, better for your diet. I also added raisins, also used fat free evaporated milk and skim milk. You won't notice the lack of fat. I also took a readers idea for ground cinnamon. This really is one of those I will use forever...thank you for your recipe Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States