Creamy Brown Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
DELISH! I started with leftover brown rice (already cooked) and added 1pt. whipping cream and 3/4 c. water. This rice pudding turned out amazing. Love, love, love the almond extract addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Your yummy, creamy recipe silenced the skeptics in my family!! They loooved it!! It's a keeper, for sure :)))) Thanks for sharing it, Diane! I used a rice cooker and followed the directions at step #2, but substituted fat free 1/2 & 1/2 for the evap. milk and it came out delicious. Only had to stir it for about 30 mins. Loooved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is probably the best rice pudding recipe I've come across. It reminds me of my grandmothers recipe. I ran out of skim milk so I supplemented with half and half (1 cup milk, 1 cup half & half) and only used 3/4 cup sugar. I didnt have cinnamon sticks so I used a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon. Turned out great! Also, I cooked the rice the night before to save on time and it worked great. I just warmed it up in the microwave before adding it to the milk mixture on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I found this recipe while looking to use up some leftover brown rice. I agree that the sugar is too much - I'll use half as much next time. And I don't have cinnamon sticks, so I had to use ground cinnamon. But the rest of the recipe is lovely, and I will definitely make it again. Slow and steady made it creamy and lush. Really nice pudding, really nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I used ground cinnamon instead of a cinnamon stick, vanilla instead of almond extract, and instead of the evaporated milk I increased the regular milk and added some heavy cream. This takes a long time but it is worth it. I'm not a big fan of brown rice but this is a way I will gladly eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is delish! For anyone following a diebetic diet, the brown rice is always a better choice. I used 1/2 cup of honey. Honey takes longer to digest, again, better for your diet. I also added raisins, also used fat free evaporated milk and skim milk. You won't notice the lack of fat. I also took a readers idea for ground cinnamon. This really is one of those I will use forever...thank you for your recipe Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend who loves rice pudding. But the best compliment he offered was "this tastes like rice pudding." The evaporated milk gives this recipe an odd taste. If I were to use this technique again I'd use half and half for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I didn't expect such a wonderful final product. It's rice pudding, after all. I wasn't trying to re-invent the wheel. The only change I made was using half as much sugar and adding 3/4 t ground cinnamon instead of a cinnamon stick. It was "to live for". I've made it a couple of times now for a friend who is recovering in his home after major surgery. He says it has the same comfort factor as custard. Eats a bowl for breakfast some mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe was great as far as amounts go. I did make a few adjustments, I used 2 cups of skim milk and then 1 can of the evaporated milk. I added vanilla extract, brown sugar and a bit of maple syrup. I also added some allspice, just b/c I like it spicy. Give it a whirl, you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
For me this is five stars with half the sugar. Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States