Creamy Brown Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is so good. It is nutty because of the brown rice. I didn't change a thing. I eat it breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
The flavor is wonderful; HOWEVER, I followed the recipe carefully, and it never reached a pudding stage. Cook brown rice at least 2X/ week, so am familiar with it. Now I've got a pot of good tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Used brown jasmine rice - quicker cooking than regular. Added one egg, 1/2 cup brown sugar, raisins, and vanilla instead of almond extract. Results were DELISH! And it was all finished in about 75 minutes total. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjaneschmidt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very good. But I really wish I would have read the reviews first and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Buttterfly092782
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe is great. I want to eat more rice but was skeptical about eating rice pudding then the fact that is would have brown rice. I replaced the 2 cups milk with unsweetened silk vanilla almond milk, used the 2% can of evaporated milk, added a finely cut banana, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, added one cup of raisins and used 2 tbsp of regular cinnamon- what a treat! I love it and can hardly stay away from it. I believe that my version is just a few calories less which is good cause I did this for my brown rice diet. It gets you full fast, which is just what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this today for the first time. The changes I made were the usual 1/2 cup sugar only because my partner is always adding Splenda, honey or maple syrup to everything. I also sprinkled the top of the serving bowls with cinnamon/sugar before refrigeraton and did add 1/2 cup of raisins. We had it for dessert this evening, he had his with maple syrup and vanilla ice cream, I had a splash of cream and a drizzle of honey. The flavor was delicious and my partner couldn't stop raving about how good it was (between every mouthful.) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Giving this four stars only because it takes such a VERY long time to turn into pudding consistency. Part of that could be that I was using regular milk (but less liquid than the recipe called for). I started out with some cooked brown rice I had leftover from dinner the night before. I used 3 cups of rice to begin with, and after about 90 minutes, I added another cup and a half of rice. This was finally finished close to 3 hours after I started cooking it. It did turn out tasty, but way more high maintenance than I expected rice pudding to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is good, but it isn't rice pudding or a custard. It is arroz con leche. Milk and rice and sweeteners. My grandmother's rice pudding recipe has eggs and butter, so I think I am just being spoiled by that. It is good, but it definitly lacks the fat/flavor of a genuine rice pudding. A great option for going lite, though. Also, to prevent it from getting crazy thick, stop cooking it before it gets pudding thick; it will thicken up as it cools some more. If you miss the mark and cook until pudding thick, I like to just stir in extra milk once it comes out of the fridge to get it back to a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I got impatient after about 40 minutes and added an egg to thicken it (tempered before stirring into hot mixture). Reduced sugar to 3/4 c. as other reviewers suggested--definitely still sweet pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
added raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States