Creamy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This was easy. Based on other reviews, I pureed the broccoli/onion base. Then I added some finely chopped red peppers and chicken to give it texture and color. Don't let the soup boil after adding the cheddar- it will separate and you'll end up with something you didn't want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Quick, easy and very tasty! I have now made this soup three times, in less than 2 weeks time. My 3 1/2 year old son declared it delicious and has been requesting it! The only thing I don't agree with is the amount servings. One recipe will feed my husband, my son and myself, along with a sandwich or burger, without a drop left. Also, I know it says that the cheese is optional, and I suppose it is. However, I used aged sharp white cheddar. Oh my, that is good. I also grated the onion on my cheese grater instead of chopping. That way we get the flavor of the onion and my son can't find them! Tonight we added some chopped cooked chicken and cooked pasta for a complete meal. I used to make a more complicated broccoli soup, but this one has replaced it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I tried and rated this recipe in 2004, but because I had to add so much more broccoli than called for I guess I didn't bother to keep it in my recipe box, so today I read reviews and tried it again. Made 2 batches--1 with oregano and Mexican 4 cheeses from Kraft--the other no oregano and cheddar. I tried each batch before putting in the cheeses. My opinion is 1) you need twice as much broccoli as the recipe calls for 2)cheese is a must, 3)the amount of oregano was negligible. I preferred the oregano/Mexican chhese, but both were good. I will use this recipe again only with my alterations!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Excellent and so easy! I made a few changes. I cooked the onion and one minced clove of garlic in 2 Tbsps of butter then I added the broth brought it to a boil and tossed in the broccoli. I didn't add the cheese to the soup, but served it as a garnish on top. My husband and I gobbled it up and soaked up the creamy broth with crusty french bread. Thanks for the recipe Marge! I'll definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I added powdered mustard and worcestershire sauce for extra zip. My husband loved this soup! I'm sure I'll be making it many times and it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I am watching my carb intake so I omitted the flour completely and cut back on the milk quite a bit. The milk I used was fat free evaporated milk which made it creamy and thickened it up on it's own. I just added enough to give it a "creamy" look. This was very good--the cheeze was just enough to give it a nice flavor without going overboard. My husband even commented that it was good and he's not much of a soup eater. Next time, I think I'll puree the broccoli/onion with the chicken broth before adding the other ingredients and I'll add fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very good. I added one diced stalk of celery and one diced carrot. Also added somme thyme and garlic power. Pureed some of the soup it the end- so it was part smooth and part chunky. Add the cheese...that shouldn't be optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I used fresh broccoli, added one shitake mushroom, one clove garlic. The onions, garlic, and mushroom were cooked in a separate pan in scant amount of oil while the broccoli steamed in the chicken broth. [The oregano was omitted at husband's request.] After the milk/flour concoction was added, along with onions, broccoli, etc. and had thickened, I pureed all before adding the (cheddar) cheese. Served with very crusty bread for dipping. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
The besat Broccoli soup anyone in my family has ever had! Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
It is a wonderful soup. I am vegetarian, so I changed it to vegetable broth...which worked well. I recommend trying this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States