Creamy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Didn't change a thing....LOVE this soup!!! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Sayville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Followed the recipe and doubled amount of broccoli. Omitted the oregano. Love that all the ingredients are fresh and healthy. Served with salad and warm sourdough rolls. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
If you want to make a "meal" out of this soup there is no way you get 5 servings out of this soup. I would say the original recipe would barely feed 2 normal sized hungry adults. I doubled the recipe and got just over 3 decent size servings. I added close to 6 cups of broccoli and didn't add the oregano based on other reviews. I liked that it used fresh ingredients as opposed to overly processed ones, but I don't think I would make it again. It was ok...not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Nothing says comfort like a nice warm, creamy bowl of this soup! Definitely add the cheddar cheese - it makes it so rich and comforting. Like others have said, I'm not sure how you would get 5 servings out of this - I made this and 2 of us ate the entire pot at one sitting! We had thick slices of rosemary/olive oil bread warmed and slathered in butter to go with it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
For as simple as this is, it is suprisingly good. Only change I made was to use fat free half and half instead of milk. Didn't use the oregano, just salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
What a refreshing change from frozen broccoli and processed cheese soup. I pureed the broccoli and red onion together before adding it to the broth. I also used cornstarch to thicken it instead of milk and flour. I look forward to making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I'm giving it 5 stars for the base of the soup....I of course made my own addages of celery, carrots, yellow potatoes, poultry seasoning, and w the 2 cups of cheddar, I added 1/2 small velveeta. This is the best soup ever. Even using it as a 'dip' with crackers is awesome. My 3 yo is loving it!! Thanks for the recipie :) Happy cooking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Yum-O! Loved this soup! It's quick and easy and you really can't go wrong with the flavours. I've made this twice now (I doubled the broth and broccoli because my hubby and son LOVE soup but kept the milk/flour the same). You can play around with the herbs and cheeses (I happend to grab the Italian seasoning and thyme this time, not just oregano), I added a dash of nutmeg and used a sharp cheddar. I used my immersion blender just before adding the cheese. Can't wait to maybe try it with some asiago for a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was really good! I love that it has fresh broccoli and not processed cheese. After reading other reviews I added more broccoli (about 3 1/2 to 4 c) and almost another cup of chicken broth to help it boil in. We love broccoli in our house, so I cut them in all sizes to cook so some broke down, but we still got some chunks in our soup. With all the extra I put in my husband, daughter (2yrs) and I finished almost all of it! One nice sized bowl for leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I think this is great! This is the first time I've made a cream of broccoli soup. I used this one because it seemed simple, amd I like that! I made a couple alterations: added half a carrot, half a celery stick and I puréed them with the broc and onion before I added the milk part. Then I steamed about a cup more broc cut up in tiny pieces and added that when I added the cheese. I also doubled the cheese. Very good! I also took a little of the onion out before I puréed, it smelled a bit oniony to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States