Creamy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I thought this might be too good to be true, tasting great without any butter or cream, and for a lower fat soup it was decent, and for ease in preparation it's awesome! I thought about adding evaporated milk but decided to try 1% to see if you could get away with it, and it ended up being the perfect consistency to eat in a bread bowl, but if you want to boost the taste (and consequently the calories), I would use evaporated milk. It definitely helped to add cheese, I just wish I had sharp cheddar to boost the flavor. I would add less oregano however, it was a little overpowering. Luckily the kids ate it pretty well, even the non-broccoli lovers, so that's why I gave it 4 stars, for myself I would have given 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
REALLY GOOD!! I added a little more broccoli, almost 4 coups, I like substance in my soups. And a little more cheddar, and I used Sargentos SHARP cheddar, made a huge difference. I could definently double up the recipie, it goes pretty fast. Otherwise AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very easy to make and very tastey. I did omit the oregano. This soup is also as good as Panera Bread. I also added more cheader cheese. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
super easy and quick with great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Momma 6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I am watching my carb intake so I omitted the flour completely and cut back on the milk quite a bit. The milk I used was fat free evaporated milk which made it creamy and thickened it up on it's own. I just added enough to give it a "creamy" look. This was very good--the cheeze was just enough to give it a nice flavor without going overboard. My husband even commented that it was good and he's not much of a soup eater. Next time, I think I'll puree the broccoli/onion with the chicken broth before adding the other ingredients and I'll add fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
OMG amazing! How much easier or more delicious could it get? I used a bag of frozen broccoli which wound up being about 4 cups of it, but kept everything else the same. I followed others advice and threw half of the broccoli and the onion in the food processor, then followed the directions. Also added a few dashes of dried mustard. Next time I may add some shredded carrots. Thanks so much for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Very quick and easy and taste so delish!! A new favorite for a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDS1050

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Easy, and came together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Good. I used homemade ham stock and it needed a little salt but other wise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States