Creamy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Very yummy on a cold day. However, I omitted the onions and added diced potatoes and either apple wood smoked or hickory bacon. Super good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is my new favorite cream of broccoli soup recipe. I did make modifications though. I doubled the recipe, used 1/2 white onion, 2 cloves of garlic (minced), and sautéed the onion/garlic in 1 Tbsp of butter in the soup pot...once that was ready I added the chicken broth. Rather than 2 cups milk, I substituted 1 cup half and half. Also, I garnished with cheddar cheese and noticed it needed more salt and pepper than I initially thought. Served with French bread. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I would rate this a 5 star I made this just as the recipe called for.We could not believe how creamy and rich it tasted. I put the broccoli and the onion in my food processor before cooking it and then after it was cooked ran it through the processor again then added the milk, flour and cheese. Sargedom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Smith
Home Town: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Windsor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
this recipe is a good simple creamy soup. when I made this I did tweak it to my own taste. I used a roux (equal parts butter and flour) to thicken this instead of just flour. I also added about a 1/4 cup of cream. One other thing I did was cook down the onions in about 1T of butter to soften them up and to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe was super easy and very tasty. Great recipe for the young chef. My 7 year old was fascinated that we made such a delicious soup in minutes with just a few ingredients. Definitely going into the cookbook for many years of enjoyment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a very basic broccoli soup. I was looking for something healthy and lo cal after the holiday and this fit the bill. Despite using my homemade chicken broth, I thought the soup still lacked complexity but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Watery yet thick at the same time, I think the beer made it watery but on the up side it also did take the bitter taste out of the Broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very yummy. I made 1.5 times the recipe since a can of broth is about 1.5 cups. I doubled the broccoli and added a couple carrots. Next time I would increase the cheese a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BusyMom
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised that this was so good not using any cream. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugartwins54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States