Creamy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I'm a lunch lady for a small private elementary. I made this for the kids at school and even the ones who weren't broccoli fans seemed to like it. So...kid approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGFALLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
A little bland for me. Also, I didn't care for the oregano so next time I'll leave that out. But, I will try this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
A pain to make. Took forever to thicken up! It came out tasting good, but took to much time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I loved this! I got four small bowls of this, so it is definitely a side dish. I chopped my broccoli up into very small pieces before I measured out 2.5 cups, so I definitely had enough broccoli. It actually turned out to be a very thick soup. I saw that other reviewers pureed their's, so I did the same with mine except that left about 1/2 cup of broccoli and onion chunks. I tasted the soup before I added the cheese and it was very good without cheese. I did add some seasonings to it (thyme, dill, celery seasoning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very quick and easy and tasted great! Changes---used American cheese instead of cheddar and added a couple small potatoes and then mashed the veggies some after they cooked in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was delish! Just pureed at the end - came out creamy, thick and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
i liked that this recipe didnt call for butter or processed cheese (velveta/american) which is why i made it. i added some parsley and diced celery in addition to the onion & cooked it with the flour and a little chicken broth first (about a 1/4 cup). then i added the rest of the liquid ingredients, brought them to a boil, then added the broccoli last and cooked it for a only a few minutes because im not a fan of over-cooked broccoli, i like it soft but still crisp at the same time. i also added the cheese to our bowls, rather than the pot of soup itself... my husband and i both enjoyed this, it was a great way to use up some of the fresh broccoli we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I thought this was a nice change from the real cheesy broccoli soup. I sauteed the garlic and onions - thats about all I changed - its very good - I'll use it from now on - you can taste the broccoli - not just cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
i liked this recipe because it was easy, but i made a few changes (many recommended by other people as well.) i sauteed the onion in olive oil first, added garlic, cooked the broccoli for longer, added more broccoli than the recipe called for, and mixed it all in the blender before adding the milk and flour. the cheese is a must! overall, a good base recipe for an easy, tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelburne, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this soup this evening and Boy was it Delicious. I was searching for a recipe that did NOT include Velveeta (not a fan) My 5 year old had 2 big bowls and My 1 year old ate a whole bowl himself. I had so much Broccoli I ended up making a triple batch and sending some to my parents house they just called with rave reviews. I shared this recipe on my facebook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States