Creamy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I had a tooth issue and was looking for a nutritious lower fat soup that I could eat without much chewing and this one fit the bill. I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk because that's all I had and I think that added a richer flavor. I also roughly mashed the broccoli so that there weren't big chunks because of my tooth problem and I liked that texture. I did add the cheese(2% milk, lower fat)and thought that added some flavor that would have been missing otherwise. So much better than the nasty canned or packaged soup. Will definitely make this again, thanks for sharing this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This recipe is delicious! Even my children love it, especially with the cheddar cheese. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat's Meow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I read the reviews and made just a few small changes: I sauteed the onion and a clove of garlic before adding the broccoli and broth. And I used a can of lowfat evap milk since I only keep almond milk in the house. I did add the cheese, and it does make it ultra-yummy. So nice to find a recipe without cream and/or processed cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Super quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I loved the oregano in this soup and I also added some garlic. This is also good with some left-over ham added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I used cream instead of thickening milk and also doubled the amount of broth. I felt there wasn't enough soup base. I just cut the broccoli pretty fine and didn't feel the need to puree it after. Great texture and fantastic flavour considering the recipe was fairly basic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It was definitely very quick..but at the expense of some flavor. Next time, I'll saute the onion and maybe some carrots in butter first. It was still tasty, but maybe adding the powdered mustard as someone recommended, or some nutmeg, to give it another zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This soup was very good, quick and easy. Not quite as yummy as Panera or au bon pain, but much healthier without all the butter and cream or half-and-half. All in all a good trade-off, since I got my broccoli-cheddar soup "fix" without all the guilt! I did as others suggested and used less oregano, but no other changes. I used lower sodium chicken broth and 2%-milk cheddar cheese, added a little salt and pepper to taste at the end. I will definitely make this again, thank you for the recipe! edit: I changed my rating from four stars to five stars. Love it! I just reheated the leftover soup I made yesterday, and it is even better the next day. Just as yummy as restaurant broccoli-cheddar soup. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
So quick and easy! I followed the recipe and used my immersion blender to puree the soup after I added the milk. The oregano was a perfect addition. Next time I will try some of the additions others have mentioned, but this soup is very tasty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hattifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very good, quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States