Creamy Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I used fresh broccoli with a very good result. I cut the amount of cream cheese in half (and used lowfat) and added some shredded cheddar cheese. I also added about 1/2 tsp. garlic salt to the cheese sauce. I didn't bother putting any cracker crumbs on the bottom of the pan, only the top. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I initially made this recipe on Thanksgiving, only I didn't have any cream cheese, so I used a half a cup of shredded sharp cheddar instead. My husband and I loved it! It was the best broccoli casserole I had ever had. I remembered it for Christmas, and this time, I used cream cheese. Well, it was thick and creamy, but tasted bland. I would recommend replacing the cream cheese with cheddar cheese. If you decide not to, though, just made sure you have the salt on hand! Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. I will definitely use it again, just not with the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
We loved this recipe! For those that thought it was bland...it's cream cheese! If you want something with an Alfredo flavor, buy Alfredo sauce...hmmm...not a bad idea! Anyway, we made this, and it was a huge hit. Needed some salt, pepper, and garlic because it is a plain cream cheese flavor, but it's something so different from the normal brocc & cheese, and we loved it! We used Town House crackers, and while the crust part of it was soggy, it still added wonderful flavor, and I used a bit more than the recipe called for, and really covered the top of it. Then I sprinkled a bit of Lawry's Seasoned salt and just a tiny bit of freshly grated parmesan cheese on the top. Also, because we like crispy broccoli, I boiled the broccoli for only a few minutes, and it was still a crisp tender, even after the baking. We'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Awesome recipe!! I added some shredded cheddar cheese to the sauce. I also did a mix of broccoli and cauliflower. I'm going to try using the sauce to make a seafood au gratin, with scallops, shrimp, crab etc. I think it would be great. You've got to try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
OH MY, YUMMY!!!! I sprinkled a little bit of garlic power in the cream sauce and some dried minced onion on the bottem layer of cracker crumbs. So good!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This was really runny when still hot and after sitting out for awhile began to become more solid. So, don't plan on serving it as soon as it comes out of the oven. The taste was wonderful and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACYCB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is sensational! After reading a few reviewers comments, I decided to use fresh parboiled broccoli, 1 clove of fresh garlic sauted in the butter, and doubled the amount of salt called for. Added 1/4 tsp of freshly ground black pepper and instead of 2 cups of milk, used 1 and 1/3. Oh, and fresh breadcrumbs instead of the cracker crumbs and only on top. Anyway, I guess I changed things up a bit. Nonetheless, this was SENSATIONAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great change from the usual processed cheese and rice casserole. I used lite cream cheese and added garlic, onion powder and pepper to the sauce. When the sauce thickened, I tossed in about 1/4 cup of grated parmesan. Really, really good-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeeJackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Loved this recipe, so did my dinner guests. The only thing I did different was I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen and I cooked it just until tender because it cooks more in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Terrific teriffic (no...not a typo) recipe. Instead of 2 cups milk, I used one cup of heavy whipping cream and one cup of whole milk. And because I had a box of Special K Multi-grain crackers in the pantry, I Cuisinarted (work with me here...) and used those as opposed to what the recipe suggested. This recipe surpassed our expectations! Trusty lovely dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NessaSays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States