Creamy Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wonderful & creamy. The only change I made was Panko bread crumbs instead of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was great. the only change I made was I added about 2 cups of left over turkey. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this nearly exactly as it was written; I just added a little bit of onion and garlic powder to the sauce, because I was afraid it would be bland. I was fairly impressed with the recipe, but my kids gobbled it up like it was going out of style! They loved it! I think next time I make it I'll either double the broccoli or add a package of macaroni noodles and add some cheddar cheese to the sauce. All in all this is a pretty good recipe on its own, but also a very excellent base for expansion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was delicious!! Creamy, mild & wonderful; you taste the broccoli - so... if you don't like broccoli, you probably won't like this dish - then again you just may :) We love broccoli and thought this dish was great. I followed the proportions exactly and scaled up to be able to use a large bag of frozen broccoli from the warehouse club as I was bringing it to a party. Everyone loved it and my husband who really doesn't like any creamy type dishes even thought it was OK. He suggested that next time I add some grated parmesan or romano cheese and I will try that and post an update sometime soon. Thanks for an easy & elegant casserole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
was ok....not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Looking at the recipe, I thought it may be a little bland for my liking as well. My adaptation includes: Sauteed one small onion and 3 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced, with the butter. When onion and garlic was a light golden color, I splashed a little white wine in, pepper, coarse sea salt, and some parsley. I let that saute for about 30 seconds or so and added flour with a wisk. Per recipe, I whisked in the milk, turned down the heat a bit and whisked until bubbly and thick. I then added the cream cheese and an Italian mix of cheese, about a cup or so, and continued to stir until all cheeses were well blended into the sauce. I did not cook my broccoli because I like it crisp. Tossed everything together and layed it out in a large casserole. Topped with parmesean, a light dusting of pepper and sea salt, and bread crumbs. Delicious! Thank you for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Loved the recipe. A few changes I made was that I replaced the crackers mentioned with ritz crackers crushed only on top and I added shredded cheddar cheese to booste the bland flavor a bit. In the past I have used velveeta cheese as well. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was very good. I did make a change to what I had on hand though. I didn't have any of the crackers but mixed french fried onions in the broccoli mixture and topped with more. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
We fixed this recipe for dinner tonight to see if it is something we want to fix for Thanksgiving. It was GREAT! We took some advice from a few others and I put my own "zing" to it. While getting the butter ready for the sauce, I added a few small cloves of garlic and sauted them before adding the flour and milk. While the sauce was cooking, I added some pepper and garlic salt. Instead of steaming my own broccoli, I got two 12 ounce pkgs of the type of frozen broccoli you can steam in the bag...easy to find at Wal Mart. Both packages were the perfect amount for the recipe. Other than those couple of things...it was perfect and very, very close to what you get at Cheddars. Yummy!!! Our advice is TRY IT!! :) As I am typing this, my husband is going back for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good! I took the advice of some others who left comments and combined 2 cloves of garlic with about a fourth cup of onion to be sauteed in the butter. This gave the dish just enough flavor to be quite tasty! I also wound up using fresh parboiled broccoli and 1 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States