Creamy Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Lets say you're escaping from LV 426 but right before you do, a warrior steals this Creamy Blueberry Pie. He takes it down to sub level 2 in the atmospheric processor and places it in a cocoon. A nuclear explosion is about to go off and you only have 14 minutes to reach minimum safe distance all while the Queen is right behind you. DO YOU GO AFTER YOUR STOLEN PIE? Yes. You should also go after it even if the blueberries have been substituted for a mixed berries. Because that's delicious too. After you eat, you might be wondering if you can dream. My answer would be: I-Firmative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasonERF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
My, oh my, I loved this pie! I had a couple of bags of frozen blueberries that had migrated to the rear of my freezer; I hesitate to say how long they had been in there. But after chipping them out of their frosty prison, and rinsing the ice crystals off them, they worked just fine. I sprinkled some cinnamon over the blueberries, and I used reduced fat sour cream and added some vanilla to the filling. Also, I used brown sugar instead of white for the topping. This pie came out beautiful and delicious. I imagine it would be even better with fresh blueberries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I'm 16 years old and this was one of my first attempts at pie making. Not only is this recipe easy, but it also tastes great. My suggestion for those trying this recipe for the first time- easy on the sugar.It will overpower the taste of te pie. Instead use a little more sour cream(I used light sour cream for nutritional purposes) in the wet mixture. For the dry topping mixture I added a few dashes of cinnamon,2 tbs more of butter and didnt use all of the mixture.It made all the difference. Make sure you bake the pie about 10 minutes longer then the recipe calls for so the crust turns golden brown and the pie stays together when cutting it later.There are 6 people in my family and most of them picky eaters-this pie satisfied everyones taste and I am definately making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I just made this the other day. (I'm testing recipes for Thanksgiving; my sister requested blueberry pie.) This has just made the menu!!!! I used 24 oz partially thawed, undrained (oops) frozen blueberries. The second I spooned the egg/sour cream mixture over the berries they finished melting and I ended up having to scoop some out and not use all of the filling (no biggee). I also didn't use all of the topping, this recipe makes a lot. I followed the advice of previous reviewers made the following changes: used 3/4 cup white sugar, 2/3 cup reduced-fat sour cream, 1 tsp. vanilla, and 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon in the filling; in the topping I used half white and half brown sugars (for total of 1/2 cup), and added 1 tsp. cinnamon. The results were wonderful (allowing for the non-draining mistake). I did have to cook longer than called for (about 20 minutes more). The pie holds together well when cut (after cooling a couple of hours, of course). Not too sweet, not sour creamy at all... Beware this goes fast so you might want to bake up 2 of them!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
HELPFUL TIPS FOR THIS BLUEBERRY COFFEECAKE IN PIE FORM: ...yep, this is more like a nice coffee cake with a pretty presentation. I am in total agreement with the user who said the sugar needed to be reduced to 3/4C sugar (i like sweet and this was PLENTY), add 1t vanilla, and up the sour cream to 2/3C. Don't worry, you won't taste the sour cream!! I also had to add 10 min to the baking time (just whenever my pie crust was nice and golden). For the topping: I did 1/4C sugar and 1/4C brown sugar, and I CANNOT imagine using all of it. I used enough to cover the top nicely. I also used more like 3T of COLD butter cut in instead of the 4T (1/4C on a stick of butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I LOVED this pie. During blueberry season you can't miss with this one. I only ever use frozen pie crust (I'm lazy) and it was SOOOO good. I agree with the following comments from others: 1. Add vanilla to the sour cream 2. Add pinch of cinnamon to the topping 3. Almost tastes better the next day cold or room temp. My next variation on this pie will to make it with strawberries or a mixed berry. Try Trader Joe's frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lottieclottie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AYTON33
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I have made this pie numerous times, with fresh, with frozen, with strawberries, with combination blue and raspberries and it is always GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is fantastic! This pie completely blew away all of my American friends who have been making and eating blueberry pies all their lives! Several times, while trying to make this recipe a little more heart-friendly, I used light sour cream, light brown sugar, as well as soft baking butter with canola oil. Turned out very good indeed! I highly recommend this recipe as this pie is very easy to make and even seasoned and experienced pie connoisseurs will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vitsebsk, Vitsebsk, Belarus
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was a simple recipe that has ample room for experimentation. While the topping is sweet, I didn't find the center too terribly sweet- maybe I could have used sweeter berries (I'd rather eat a perfect berry over making a pie with it). *I found that refrigerating this pie a day ahead brings out a much better quality to the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this pie several times already. It was so simple to make, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldenpig823

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States