Creamy Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe is delicious and solves the problem of runny blueberry pie. A couple notes before you bake: 1) Definitely use brown sugar for the streusel. White sugar was pretty boring on mine. This pie would also work just fine with a regular pie-crust lid. 2) Depending on the kind of crust you use, baking time may need to be way more than 50 minutes at 350. My crust was all-butter, and I needed to bake the pie for about 80 minutes to get it to brown at 350. This didn't affect the filling at all... don't worry, it won't burn. 3) Depending on how ripe the blueberries are, you may not need a whole cup of sugar. If they are ripe enough to eat fresh and don't seem very tart, DON'T use a whole cup!! My berries were very ripe, and I used a little over a half-cup of sugar and the pie was definitely sweet enough. 4) Three cups of berries is VERY conservative. I used two dry pints of berries (about five cups) and there was still room for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Great pie and super easy. I cut the Sugar in the custard by half and added a touch of cinnamon and nutmeg. It was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I was underwhelmed by this recipe. The custard wasn't really much of a custard. Maybe I did sometime wrong but it was way too thick. More like a slightly soggy pound cake than a custard as far as texture goes and it kind of drowned out the flavor of the blueberries. It was still worth eating but it didn't go nearly as quickly as the traditional blueberry pie I made last year. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jferger
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I made this to celebrate with my Dad, he's a big blueberry pie guy. This was good. Slightly different texture than I was expecting. Tastes like blueberry muffins with a hint of pie. I did add the vanilla to the custard and used a mixture of brown and white sugar for the crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Kids loved it! Add brown sugar and cinnamon to crumb topping. Add vanilla and/or lemon to sour cream mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrspatricia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was great. Reduced sugar and increased blueberries. Next time I'm going to try blackberries. Only used half of topping. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Love this pie. And family devoured it. I already made it a second time this week. I did reduce the sugar in the custard mix so the sweet didn't overwhelm the flavor of the blueberries with great results. Added cinnamon to the crumble and vanilla to the custard and it turned out fabulous. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica Anderson Bradbury
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
We followed the recipe (didn't add vanilla or cinnamon like many suggested in the reviews) and it was pretty good. Everybody at our house seemed to like it however, I think next time for curiosity sake we will add the cinnamon and see what that is like. Not too sweet either. Would have been awesome with some ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Anderson Bradbury
Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This is so good, and really easy to make! I used a pre-made frozen crust, and thawed it for half an hour, then baked it for about 15. I then continued with the recipe. I did make a few changes…..I added a spoonful of vanilla with the egg, and used brown sugar instead of white when making the topping. I can't believe that it's made with sour cream, it's so delicious! Everyone who has tried it has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Gross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This pie was wonderful! Like others, I added a little vanilla but other than that, I made no changes. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States