Creamy Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Very simple to make and so delicious! I didn't have sour cream on hand so instead substituted plain greek yogurt which tastes practically the same and the texture was very nice. I took this pie to work and it was a big hit! (If you dislike making pie crust, yet dislike pre-made crusts even more, see if you can find Marie Callendar frozen pie crusts in your store. They are delicious compared to any others I've tried.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Great...followed the recipe exactly. Only issue was that it wasn't enough to fill my deep dish pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was the easiest pie to make! I didn't use sour cream b/c I didn't have any, but I did use vanilla greek yogurt. I thought it turned out wonderfully. I was hoping for more of a custard type layer, but the result was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I did not use all of the struesel topping. It seemed like it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Just Wonderful! Substituted 3/4 cup white sugar, 2/3 cup sour cream and added 1 tsp vanilla in the custard. I made the streusel with 1/4 cup sugar, 1/3 cup light brown sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. nutmeg, 1 stick melted unsalted butter, and 1+ 1/3 cups flour (A Barefoot Contessa favorite). Make your own pie crust and people will think you're a pro! It's foolproof! Better than most and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Yummy! Loved how the sour cream sank to the bottom and created a kind of custard. I left it out overnight and by the next day the streusel wasn't crunchy anymore; next time I would make both the pie and streusel beforehand and bake it the same day I intend to serve it. And probably add cinnamon and nutmeg to the streusel, too--I chickened out because I wasn't sure how it would go with the blueberries, but I think it would have been fine. The one adjustment I did make was add about a teaspoon of vanilla, just because, which did no harm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Wonderful! I am not big on fruit pies but this is fabulous! Great with raspberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Made this pie tonight for my dad's birthday. Awesome! Absolutely loved it, as did everyone else. I really liked the texture of the custard in this pie. The only things that I changed was that I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup in the custard. I also used brown sugar on the streusel topping instead of white! Will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This pie was a wonderful! I have never made a blueberry pie before, in fact It's only my fifth pie, and it turned out excellent. I did not have a deep dish pan so I used a regular pie pan and reduced the blueberries by half a cup and left out some of the custard mixture, using enough to fill the crust. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla to the mix. I used a homemade butter flake crust and added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to the topping. My boyfriend, who doesn't normally like fruit pies, couldn't get enough so I'm making another one today. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very yummy cold or hot. I didn't have any sour cream on hand so I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream with a tad of vanilla also, added a nice sweet taste came out wonderful. Will redo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States