Creamy Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Very simple to make and so delicious! I didn't have sour cream on hand so instead substituted plain greek yogurt which tastes practically the same and the texture was very nice. I took this pie to work and it was a big hit! (If you dislike making pie crust, yet dislike pre-made crusts even more, see if you can find Marie Callendar frozen pie crusts in your store. They are delicious compared to any others I've tried.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Great...followed the recipe exactly. Only issue was that it wasn't enough to fill my deep dish pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was the easiest pie to make! I didn't use sour cream b/c I didn't have any, but I did use vanilla greek yogurt. I thought it turned out wonderfully. I was hoping for more of a custard type layer, but the result was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I did not use all of the struesel topping. It seemed like it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Just Wonderful! Substituted 3/4 cup white sugar, 2/3 cup sour cream and added 1 tsp vanilla in the custard. I made the streusel with 1/4 cup sugar, 1/3 cup light brown sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. nutmeg, 1 stick melted unsalted butter, and 1+ 1/3 cups flour (A Barefoot Contessa favorite). Make your own pie crust and people will think you're a pro! It's foolproof! Better than most and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Yummy! Loved how the sour cream sank to the bottom and created a kind of custard. I left it out overnight and by the next day the streusel wasn't crunchy anymore; next time I would make both the pie and streusel beforehand and bake it the same day I intend to serve it. And probably add cinnamon and nutmeg to the streusel, too--I chickened out because I wasn't sure how it would go with the blueberries, but I think it would have been fine. The one adjustment I did make was add about a teaspoon of vanilla, just because, which did no harm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Wonderful! I am not big on fruit pies but this is fabulous! Great with raspberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Made this pie tonight for my dad's birthday. Awesome! Absolutely loved it, as did everyone else. I really liked the texture of the custard in this pie. The only things that I changed was that I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup in the custard. I also used brown sugar on the streusel topping instead of white! Will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This pie was a wonderful! I have never made a blueberry pie before, in fact It's only my fifth pie, and it turned out excellent. I did not have a deep dish pan so I used a regular pie pan and reduced the blueberries by half a cup and left out some of the custard mixture, using enough to fill the crust. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla to the mix. I used a homemade butter flake crust and added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to the topping. My boyfriend, who doesn't normally like fruit pies, couldn't get enough so I'm making another one today. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very yummy cold or hot. I didn't have any sour cream on hand so I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream with a tad of vanilla also, added a nice sweet taste came out wonderful. Will redo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States