Creamy Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious either warm or cold! I've made this with frozen blueberries, as well as frozen mixed berries. I like the original recipe; however, cutting the sugar to 3/4 c. doesn't hurt the flavor or texture. My husband (who never willingly eats sour cream) was pleasantly surprised that the pie tasted nothing like sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
We loved this recipe hot or cold it was one of the best pies I have ever made and it was so easy!! I did cahange a few things though, I used spelt flour instead of white to make it gluten free, raw suger instead of white, and yogurt instead of sour cream. I also only had frozen berries but it worked out well. I would use this recipe with peaches, blackberries, rasberries, apples... anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This was awesome. Everyone raved. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
i have made this pie and it is wonderful. i would recomend it to anyone. also today i am using this recipe but with raspberries, it is still cooling and waitng to be enjoyed. i did cut down on the sugar in the custard mix and i did not find it too sweet. i give it a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Aikenhead-Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I liked this pie, probably better than regular blueberry pie. I made it exactly as directed and it was good, but it could be better. The next time I made it, I didn't think there was enough blueberries in the pie so I doubled to 6 cups. I cooked 3 cups and mashed and thickened on the stove to reduce to 1 1/2 cups. Cool then add remaining berries and sugar. It was really, really sweet, so I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup using the doubled blueberries. I added a peeled grated apple squeezed dry in a towel to the blueberries to help thicken (tip from Americas test kitchen, pectin in the apple will help to thicken) and I did not use flour in the filling because that has a thick gluey taste in this pie. I used 2 T. quick cooking tapioca ground. I added 1t. vanilla to the filling and some grated lemon zest. So, given that I made it as directed and then again with these changes, I hope you try it either way, but if nothing else, reduce the sugar it is really, really sweet as is so add less and taste, then add more if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I'm not much of a pie person, but I had fresh blueberries from picking. This pie is awesome! I might be a pie person now. I made it with the Pie Crust IV recipe from this site. I will make it exactly the same next time. Only thing I did that was different from the recipe instructions was to bake about 10 minutes longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
One of the best pies from this sight I have ever made. I made about six of these for our canival booth and they were gone when the word got out we sold them by the slice AWESOME!!! Thank you ALLRECIPES this is the only SITE I use for pies and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Sooooo good!! It was great at bedtime, breakfast, and lunch! Glad to have a new go-to dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday, my first blueberry pie. At the suggestion of BunnysOven, I increased the sour cream to 2/3 cup; for the streusel topping instead of 1/2 cup white sugar, used 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar. The only other change I would make is when adding the sugar for the custard, I would reduce the white sugar to 3/4 cup. It turned out a little runny after baking, but we had it the next day and it was perfect. Very easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is the ONLY blueberry pie recipe you'll ever need! I made it as dessert for a dinner party, and my husband almost had a hairy fit when he saw me putting sour cream into a blueberry pie. It was by far the BEST pie, blue berry or otherwise, we had ever had. It was a big hit with our guests and they all wanted the recipe. I do recommend doing what other reviewers have suggested, and that is to add a teaspoon or two of vanilla to the custard and sprinkle cinnamon over the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States