Creamy Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I liked this pie, probably better than regular blueberry pie. I made it exactly as directed and it was good, but it could be better. The next time I made it, I didn't think there was enough blueberries in the pie so I doubled to 6 cups. I cooked 3 cups and mashed and thickened on the stove to reduce to 1 1/2 cups. Cool then add remaining berries and sugar. It was really, really sweet, so I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup using the doubled blueberries. I added a peeled grated apple squeezed dry in a towel to the blueberries to help thicken (tip from Americas test kitchen, pectin in the apple will help to thicken) and I did not use flour in the filling because that has a thick gluey taste in this pie. I used 2 T. quick cooking tapioca ground. I added 1t. vanilla to the filling and some grated lemon zest. So, given that I made it as directed and then again with these changes, I hope you try it either way, but if nothing else, reduce the sugar it is really, really sweet as is so add less and taste, then add more if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I'm not much of a pie person, but I had fresh blueberries from picking. This pie is awesome! I might be a pie person now. I made it with the Pie Crust IV recipe from this site. I will make it exactly the same next time. Only thing I did that was different from the recipe instructions was to bake about 10 minutes longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
One of the best pies from this sight I have ever made. I made about six of these for our canival booth and they were gone when the word got out we sold them by the slice AWESOME!!! Thank you ALLRECIPES this is the only SITE I use for pies and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Sooooo good!! It was great at bedtime, breakfast, and lunch! Glad to have a new go-to dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday, my first blueberry pie. At the suggestion of BunnysOven, I increased the sour cream to 2/3 cup; for the streusel topping instead of 1/2 cup white sugar, used 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar. The only other change I would make is when adding the sugar for the custard, I would reduce the white sugar to 3/4 cup. It turned out a little runny after baking, but we had it the next day and it was perfect. Very easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is the ONLY blueberry pie recipe you'll ever need! I made it as dessert for a dinner party, and my husband almost had a hairy fit when he saw me putting sour cream into a blueberry pie. It was by far the BEST pie, blue berry or otherwise, we had ever had. It was a big hit with our guests and they all wanted the recipe. I do recommend doing what other reviewers have suggested, and that is to add a teaspoon or two of vanilla to the custard and sprinkle cinnamon over the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This pie was wonderful. I used a 10 inch pie plate and added more blueberries and one extra egg. Added vanilla to the egg mixture and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. Used part brown sugar and less butter for the topping. Hard to wait for it to cool before cutting it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is an easy recipe and tasty. I made once according to the original recipe and another time with some of the other recommendations. It is in no way overly sweet. The topping amount is completely appropriate. I used a roll out prepared crust and cooked one time in a quiche dish and the next time in a cake pan. Seems like a pie pan might be too small. Also added 1 t vanilla to filling. Second time I made I used 1/4 c white sugar and 1/4 c unpacked light brown sugar with 1 t cinnamon. I thought this was better than original version. Other than this, quantities in original recipe are perfect. I served cold with vanilla ice cream. Would also be good served with breakfast. I cooked first time in oven and added a significant amount of extra cooking time. Next time I cooked in toaster oven and added about 10 minutes extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great flavor, easy to make. Our family loved this one. I have some fresh rhubarb in the fridge...going to try this recipe with the rhubarb. I think the possibilities are endless with this one...peaches, raspberries, blackberries, cherries, raisins...mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I used 1 cup each blueberry,raspberry and strawberry. It was wonderfu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States