Creamy Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
First off, I don't usually like blueberries, I made this pie for my husband. It turned out so good! I couldn't believe how yummy it was! It had an amazinig texture and flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
HELPFUL TIPS FOR THIS BLUEBERRY COFFEECAKE IN PIE FORM: ...yep, this is more like a nice coffee cake with a pretty presentation. I am in total agreement with the user who said the sugar needed to be reduced to 3/4C sugar (i like sweet and this was PLENTY), add 1t vanilla, and up the sour cream to 2/3C. Don't worry, you won't taste the sour cream!! I also had to add 10 min to the baking time (just whenever my pie crust was nice and golden). For the topping: I did 1/4C sugar and 1/4C brown sugar, and I CANNOT imagine using all of it. I used enough to cover the top nicely. I also used more like 3T of COLD butter cut in instead of the 4T (1/4C on a stick of butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
The best blueberry pie! You don't even need to change the recipe. It is delicious just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is excellent. I cut the sugar that goes in the sour cream mixture in half and added 1/4 cup of Agave nectar. I also added a splash of almond extract. Like others, I added cinnamon to the topping, and didn't use it all (another way to cut out some sugar). I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 sugar on the topping. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This pie is amazing! I usually only search for gluten-free recipes, but this is easy enough to modify. I used sweet rice flour and a GF Pantry crust, and let me tell you my family (who are picky) loved it. They kept asking "is it really Gluten-Free"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Instead of blueberries, we used a combination of home-grown berries we had in the freezer. Loganberries, raspberries, blackberries and wild mountain huckleberries. Tossed the berries with about 1/3 cup sugar and let them defrost while we made the crust & filling. The only other change we made was to use freshly ground whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and cut the 1 cup sugar down to 1/2 cup. My 9 year old is the one who makes it most of the time. She gets RAVE reviews at potlucks and get-togethers. This is an awesome pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Oh this was super good!! I made with frozen bag of blackberries and it was SOOOO good!! I also substituted FF sour cream and Splenda into the Sourcream mixture but did use real sugar for the topping :) YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this for my brother, who loves blueberry pie. He thought it was fantastic, but that it was like eating a blueberry muffin that wasn't fully cooked. He said it was great and he took half of it with him after our Christmas feast was over. In my opinion, I don't think it should be called Creamy Blueberry Pie. I would describe it as more of a cake, due to its texture. It was definitely not what I expected, but it was good and I will be making it for my brother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My2CatsR2Cool

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This pie was GREAT and I am making for Christmas to bring over to my father in laws for christmas dinner. I did add a little heavy whipping cream and vanilla to the sourcream mixture, about 1 to 2 tablespoons of the whipping cream, and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. This pie was GREAT and I served it about 2-3 hours after it came out of the oven and it wasnt soupy at all and it cut so clean everybody was so impressed! GREAT recipe!..oh yeah and I also added some raspberries to it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I LOVE this pie! It is just different and so yummy. I do 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown and add vanilla. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States