Creamy Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Yum! I wanted to try Chef Michael Smith's Whole Wheat Pastry and made this pie. I used a bag of frozen mixed berries, cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup, used brown sugar for the topping and added cinnamon and vanilla extract. It was so easy and turned out wonderful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Excellent for a thicker blueberry pie filling in a double crust pie. A nice change from traditional blueberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Fabulous ! I doubled the recipe and made it in 9 x 13 baking dish. The sour cream/sugar/flour mixture is so yummy over the blueberries. I did add cinnamon over the blueberries before putting the sour cream mixture in. I think cinnamon really adds a nice touch to blueberry recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Just the best blueberry! I use a bit more berries, but I am always asked to bring "the pie"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Wonderful!!! Only thing I did different was put 1/4 cup old fashioned oates with a couple of dashes of cinnamon in the topping.......Viola!!!! A great recipe!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Antonia~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Added lemon juice and vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by huesiree
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Delicious! With a bit less sugar on the crumbles it would have been even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huesiree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Excellent. The only change I made was I added 1 1/2 tsp. Of cinnamon to the topping and added a little vanilla with the blueberry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I used fat free yogurt (Fage greek strained) instead of sour cream, cut the sugar in half, added vanilla and lemon, and used half blueberries and half bing cherries (leftovers from another pie). It's very good, but the fruit tasted a bit artificial, despite everything being local and organic. I may pull the vanilla next time and add lemon zest as well as juice to ramp up the tartness. I also used a bit less fruit, as it was leftover fruit from another pie, and cut the sugar in the sour-cream mixture. It has a wonderful texture, and the yogurt worked perfectly. Will definitely make this again, and will continue to fiddle with it to get that truly farm-fresh flavor. Since I tweaked the heck out of it I can't fairly rate it with 5 stars, and the artificial fruit flavor was a detractor, albeit one my hubby didn't notice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Absolutely amazing!! Made one pie on Tuesday evening and have been requested to make another already. YUMMY UPDATE: I've now made this 3 times and each time it's perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States