Creamy Beet With Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Made this soup last night, with the following changes: I added a can of crushed tomatoes in place of one cup of chicken broth; I added a dash of hot sauce; I used plain yogurt as an optional garnish, instead of adding milk (dairy product issue for a family member). We loved it! I have been asked to make it again often. I think it is a great, flexible recipe. Thanks, Pam Anderson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Tasty! The cayenne adds a subtle zing. Made it with no-fat evaporated milk to cut the fat/calories -- worked just fine. The boiled-egg garnish was OK, but seemed more suited for a cold soup/borscht. In fact, this soup tasted fine cold ... just not what I was looking for in mid-February!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This soup is fantastic!! I've made it twice: once with fresh dill & once with 2 teaspoons dried dill. I substituted "Better Than Bouillon" vegetable soup base in water for the chicken broth, and added a can of kidney beans before blending to thicken it & add protein. Used only 1/4 cup half-and-half to lower the calorie count. This soup is so delicious, I keep craving it. I'll make it again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Quite tasty with just a little kick from the cayenne. I garnished with a little chopped cucumber. I may use this recipe as a base, the jack it up, I'm already thinking of ideas for it. I think I can make it 5 star. By all means everyone should make this recipe, it's pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davebuoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I love this soup! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. The only substitution was that I used a higher fat cream (18%) because it was all I had in the fridge. I'm about to make my second batch this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was fine, but just not my favorite way to eat beets. It was better after it sat in the fridge for a day and the flavors mingled. I would suggest rye croutons instead of hard boiled egg as the garnish. The soup had a beautiful magenta color that would be great for Valentine's day if your sweetie likes beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This soup grows on you. I wasn't sure I liked it at first, after re-warming it was pretty darn good. It took a lot of time so I will only be making it on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Made same as recipe but used coconut milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 and substituted veggie broth to make vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I decided to make this soup without the cream just to make it slightly healthier and and just used a little more water to thin it out [I also absolutely love the rich colour of this soup}. After blending the whole batch I poured most of it back in the pot but I left a small amount (1/2 cup to 3/4 cup) of soup in the blender and tossed in some roasted garlic goat Chevre (soft white goat cheese) and blended further. I used this as garnish poured into each bowl as the colors contrast well. It was a fabulous soup and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I wish 4.5 stars was an option. I didn't have any chicken stock so I made a tomato broth by watering down marinara which was really yummy. My pinch of sugar was heavy handed and too much for this recipe, so it turned out a little sweet for my taste, but definately delicious. I garnished with shredded mozarella cheese which was really pretty with the raspberry color. Definately a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peace Frog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States