Creamy Beet With Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a wonderful way to use some fresh organic beets. The caraway gives it a smoky balance to the sweetness. I replaced the half-and-half with greek yogurt (mostly because that's what I had on hand) and it was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I loved this soup. I substituted the cream for 2% milk to make it a little less fatty and lower calorie. I had big plans to freeze some, but it was too delicious and didn't last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I like it! I didnt put sugar and added some carrots instead. Also, I only had a bit of half and half and a bit of whole milk, like a few spoons of each, so I only used that and I really liked the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I did not have caraway seeds, so I substituted a tsp. of celery seeds (not toasted). I added a few carrots and used a small can of evaporated milk since half and half is not sold here in Peru. Hubby is on a soup diet, so this was a great change. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Nice soup...a dash of red wine adds a good flavour. I prefer using beef broth instead of chicken. I pureed half of the soup and then left the other half chunky and added some carrot chunks. The chunkier texture makes the soup heartier if you are serving it as a meal. Goes well with a rustic style bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was a great dish for beets! The only change I made was to use 1c half&half vs. 1.5c. I may substitute yogurt next time - as some of the others said. The caraway seeds add a lot of flavor. This is definitely a make again dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I wish 4.5 stars was an option. I didn't have any chicken stock so I made a tomato broth by watering down marinara which was really yummy. My pinch of sugar was heavy handed and too much for this recipe, so it turned out a little sweet for my taste, but definately delicious. I garnished with shredded mozarella cheese which was really pretty with the raspberry color. Definately a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peace Frog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I decided to make this soup without the cream just to make it slightly healthier and and just used a little more water to thin it out [I also absolutely love the rich colour of this soup}. After blending the whole batch I poured most of it back in the pot but I left a small amount (1/2 cup to 3/4 cup) of soup in the blender and tossed in some roasted garlic goat Chevre (soft white goat cheese) and blended further. I used this as garnish poured into each bowl as the colors contrast well. It was a fabulous soup and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Made same as recipe but used coconut milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 and substituted veggie broth to make vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This soup grows on you. I wasn't sure I liked it at first, after re-warming it was pretty darn good. It took a lot of time so I will only be making it on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States