Creamy Beet With Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Wonderful. I agree that beef broth is more authentic. Skipped the cream, just added sour cream to the bowls (a must!). Also add two potatoes for a little bulk. Love love love, reminds me of my summer in Russia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I had to use up a few beets a friend had given me from her garden. I cut the recipe by a third, but still had too much soup to hold the egg. The egg sank and soaked in a lovely color. I also used only a dash of cayenne. I didn't want it too spicy. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe! I made some changes, because we're trying to eat plant based diet. I also wanted to stretch it a little, since others said it didn't make much. I added a grated carrot for sweetness, a diced potato to make it creamy, a shallot to add a little more garlic/onion flavor since I also added 1 cup extra liquid. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and tofutti sour cream (1/2 container) instead of dairy (1/2 and 1/2). I also cut the beats in 1/4 inch slices and may have cooked just a bit longer. I gave this 5 stars, because I'm sure it would be fantastic the way it is written. The caraway seeds and dill make this dish unique and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was just ok, and I love beets! I found myself saying "bluh" after the first few spoonfuls, so I gave up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I think this is one of my favorite recipes of all time. The caraway seeds are the key I think. I left out the sugar since beets are so sweet already and used 2% milk, and it was perfect. My parents also raved about it....more than once after I gave them some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blfm94
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Love the dill/beet/caraway flavours! Don't skip toasting the caraway seeds - makes a bit difference to the flavour. Used chevre instead of a boiled egg for garnish. Wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I am on the site to make this recipe for the second time. In the words of my husband "This is now my favorite soup you make!". I hadn't had beets before deciding a month ago to try them. They were so cheap and beautiful in the grocery store. This recipe looked easy and delicious, and I have to say I am a fan of dill. The flavors are wonderful, the soup is hearty without being too heavy, and you just feel healthier after you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
this was my first time cooking with caraway, which is why i wanted to try the recipe in the first place.. i nearly tripled the pepper.. used dried instead of fresh for both the dill and garlic.. added a touch of vinegar bc the yogurt i used in place of half&half wasn't pungent enough.. used canned beets (w/o vinegar) bc i didn't have any fresh.. i like the recipe but am trying to figure out what it's missing.. it's like nothing i've ever tried before.. ty for introducing me to something new
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a wonderful way to use some fresh organic beets. The caraway gives it a smoky balance to the sweetness. I replaced the half-and-half with greek yogurt (mostly because that's what I had on hand) and it was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I loved this soup. I substituted the cream for 2% milk to make it a little less fatty and lower calorie. I had big plans to freeze some, but it was too delicious and didn't last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States