Creamy Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Great recipe. I added a bit of balsamic vinegar to give it some added zip, but overall this is going in our family favorite recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This salad is not only good, it's pretty. Such a beautiful dish to serve at any gathering. The pretty color dresses up the table. This dish also tastes better the next day which makes this another perfect dish for gatherings as it can be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was fantastic. We like things with more zing so we upped the mustard and horseradish. We also used fat free yogurt and nixed the mayo to keep it healthy and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Family loved it. I roasted the beets, substituted light sour cream for part of the mayo and added half a tart apple in a small dice. I also added a tiny bit of honey to mellow the dressing. Served it on a bed of arugula. A nice change from the usual beet/orange/onion salad I often make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
so good I used it as a snack.---and I didn't share last time. I prefer to bake beets wrapped in aluminum foil---350 for 1 hour. Used regular mustard and skipped the horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
very good served on a piece of leaf lettuce to catch the fallen dressing - yum! I also cubed the beets instead of slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
My 13 yr old and I whipped this together is just a few minutes. I used s.cream instead of yogurt, and 2 TB of powdered green goddess dressing in place of the dill,& used rice wine vinegar. Had just roasted beets from my garden, so 1/4'd them, and voila, DELICIOUS!!!! My daughter said, " I think this ones a keeper!" Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frostybean

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I was a little bit disappointed in this salad. everyone at our gathering ate it, and I didnt get any bad commentsm but I also didnt get any compliments. I found it somewhat lacking in flavor, but it was definately a little more flavorful the next day. It makes a pretty presentation, but it lacks the pazazz that would have made it more memorable, and the kind of recipe that someone would say " ohhhh could ya make THAT again!?".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mehoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Wow! This was very good! The next time I make this I will double the recipe so I have more to enjoy. I was surprised how naturally sweet it was given that the only sugar in it was in the mayonnaise. I made it with fresh dill because I bought that by mistake, but I think it added to the salad. I was hesitant at first to add horseradish, but much to my surprise it gave the salad some zip - I couldn't taste "horseradish" at all. The only reason I don't give this recipe a 5 is because my red onion had a bit of a "skunky taste." Next time I will make this salad with a sweet onion, or leave the onion out completely. The onion color doesn't matter that much because the beets stain everything else in the bowl. Perhaps if I had marinated the salad longer than 2 hours the onion taste would have mellowed out. REVIEW UPDATE: This recipe is perfect without the onions. I have changed my rating from 4 stars to 5 stars so that it appears in my list of 5-star recipes. After all, this recipe is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
thought this was very tasty. I used my box grater and grated the beets instead of slicing and loved the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States