Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe, the flavor of the sauce was amazing, I used slice filet instead of ground beef and served it with a crusty garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I thought it was great!! I have tried a lot of stroganoff recipes and I think I like this one best. I did omit the nutmeg and clove only because I don't prefer those spices. I did add some sliced mushrooms because I love mushrooms. It turned out fantastic and the whole family loved it. Next time I think I will use beef broth rather than water. Thanks for the great and easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This recipe is perfect!!!I see other reviews say to cut out the nutmeg and cloves. Don't!!!!That's what makes it unique and good. Try it as is. Everyone I make it for, loves it. The only thing that I think may be a typo, is use 1/4 c. FRESH parsley, not dried. Also I cut this recipe in half and it's enough sauce for 1 package noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I didn't cook it exactly as written but the ingredients were exactly the same (I cooked the onions first, then added in the ground beef, then stirred in the flour, then the water, nutmeg, cloves. Then I added the family size can of cream of mushroom and cooked for a while, then whisked in the sour cream, mustard salt and pepper). Perfect dinner tonight and will follow this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Too much of a very bland gooey sauce. The flour/water AND the soup should have been a tip-off but I tried it anyways. I'm sorry, this is cafeteria food of the 70's, not for a discriminating palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lasky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was an ok version of stroganoff. I put in half of the cloves and nutmeg and I used regular instead of golden cream of mushroom and beef broth instead of water. If I were to make this again I would leave out the nutmeg and cloves, use golden cream of mushroom soup (to see how much difference it makes) and maybe about 12 oz. of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Like others I made a few slight modifications. I omitted the nutmeg and cloves and added 1 tsp thyme with the onion. Instead of using flour I used cornstarch (mixed with water) and withheld it until it simmered for about 15 minutes (because I used some fresh mushrooms they needed to cook some). I added 1 tsp cooking sherry to the sour cream mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Patt Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tastythctreats
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
?? it's good, too much parsley and onions for me and it's missing the Worcestershire sauce... The kids liked it so I'm happy. I also made beef and pork meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I was not a fan of the Mustard powder, nutmeg and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I did have to alter slightly only out of necessity and use a can of cream of mushroom instead of two golden mushroom acai only had one can....still great. It almost reminds me of Swedish meatballs from the nutmeg and cloves. I used the same quantity of black pepper and it gave it a nice little kick, not too much as my toddler still ate it with a mmmmmm. Oh and I added a little garlic powder when adding the salt and pepper only because I add garlic something to almost every dinner I make. Definitely try this if you like stroganoff and Swedish meatballs as its a nice blend of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States