Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was very tasty! Next time I will cut out the Nugmeg and Clove-it gave an odd flavor to the sauce and was a bit overpowering. I also found the 2t of pepper to be way to much and it made the sauce unnecessarily spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I thought it was great!! I have tried a lot of stroganoff recipes and I think I like this one best. I did omit the nutmeg and clove only because I don't prefer those spices. I did add some sliced mushrooms because I love mushrooms. It turned out fantastic and the whole family loved it. Next time I think I will use beef broth rather than water. Thanks for the great and easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I cut this recipe in half and took out the ground cloves. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe, the flavor of the sauce was amazing, I used slice filet instead of ground beef and served it with a crusty garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I also thought this was great! I deleted the nutmeg and cloves. I used beef broth instead of water and used only one can of golden mushroom soup. I added another 1/2 lb. beef and 1 large can sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I will give this dish a five star rating the next time when I leave out the cloves. Not the spice I would add to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Like others I made a few slight modifications. I omitted the nutmeg and cloves and added 1 tsp thyme with the onion. Instead of using flour I used cornstarch (mixed with water) and withheld it until it simmered for about 15 minutes (because I used some fresh mushrooms they needed to cook some). I added 1 tsp cooking sherry to the sour cream mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Patt Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was a great recipe, lots of flavor and the sauce was very good. My husband and kids all loved it. I had to skip the mushrooms in the recipe because of the kids, but next time I will try it with the mushrooms. This recipe is definitely going to be a regular use recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Cotton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This recipe is perfect!!!I see other reviews say to cut out the nutmeg and cloves. Don't!!!!That's what makes it unique and good. Try it as is. Everyone I make it for, loves it. The only thing that I think may be a typo, is use 1/4 c. FRESH parsley, not dried. Also I cut this recipe in half and it's enough sauce for 1 package noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I didn't cook it exactly as written but the ingredients were exactly the same (I cooked the onions first, then added in the ground beef, then stirred in the flour, then the water, nutmeg, cloves. Then I added the family size can of cream of mushroom and cooked for a while, then whisked in the sour cream, mustard salt and pepper). Perfect dinner tonight and will follow this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Stroganoff

A quick and easy dinner recipe with beef and noodles in a creamy mushroom sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States