Creamy Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chaz901
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I've tried this recipe for the third time and finally got it right!!! Like another reviewer, mine was turning out soupy. Although it was soupy, my husband and kids ate it because it was still good. Since it was good, I kept trying it using different methods of the same ingredients or different versions of the same ingredients, but I kept getting the same results. The lightbulb finally came on while watching a Jello pudding commercial. It dawned on me that I had been purchasing cook and serve pudding mix instead of instant pudding mix. LOL!!! So to the other reviewer with the soupy issue, check your pudding mix. As stated in the ingredients, use instant pudding mix. (Grocery stores should stock the instant mix on the top shelf and the cook-n-serve mix on the bottom shelf. Don't they know, we need stuff quick now. Lol.) This banana pudding is perfect as is!!! The only thing I did differently was to use a whole lot more cookies. I like to use a big bag of Jackson's vanilla wafers. I crumble the last few cookies across the top when I'm done. I like this recipe much better than my mom's totally homemade pudding because it's not as rich, is quicker to make, and has LESS calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaz901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I love this recipe...I put my own spin on it by using lemon extract instead of lemon juice but either is fine. I also added a little vanilla extract as well, I use 2% milk instead of water (still used the sweetened condensed milk also)...and finally I added cream cheese and chessmen cookies instead of all wafers(I put vanilla wafers at the bottom of the pan and the chessmen cookies throughout the pudding)..Got great feedback everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This pudding is VERY sweet and way too rich for my taste. I read all the reviews before making the pudding and thus reduced 15% of the sweetened condensed milk called for the recipe, but the result is still far too sweet for me. I will probably use only half of the sweetened condensed milk and substitute regular milk for the other half next time. Also, make sure to use well-riped bananas, 'cause the bananas I used weren't ripe enough so their texture is firm and didn't provide any banana aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Only banana pudding recipe I make anymore. I always have people requesting me to make this for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laine Cummings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexander City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Oh my goodness!!! This was delicious!!! I made a wonderful ham Easter dinner and this was the perfect dessert to end with!! All who ate it raved about it. My friend's 6 year old daughter who is very picky about her food asked for seconds!!! I have had many a banana pudding and I will admit I honestly think this recipe is the best! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is so good! I use it all the time. I normally use cool whip in place of whipping cream and add extra cookies. This recipe is so easy and quick to make my husband asks me to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian Michelle Ross
Home Town: Lucasville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Awesome, decadent, creamy banana pudding!! To the reviewer who said hers was too "soupy" - did you follow the five-minute chilling step for the pudding? The instructions say to mix the pudding mix, condensed sweetened milk, and water - and then to chill the mixture in the fridge for five minutes before proceeding. This is a critical step! When I make this pudding, the initial mixture is soupy (even after I beat it with a hand mixer for 2 minutes) - but by the time it comes out of the fridge 5 minutes later, it is much thicker. That five-minutes of chilling time really does make a difference. And when I subsequently fold in the whipped cream (which I prepare as the pudding mixture is chilling in the fridge), the pudding becomes even thicker. I follow this recipe to a "T" and it turns out great every time. It's pretty heavy (calorie and fat-gram wise) but so, so delicious and decadent - perfect for a once-in-while special family dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heather
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
One of the best banana pudding recipes I've ever made! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This was easy to make and so yummy!!! My husband is picky when it comes to banana pudding but he loved it....as did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Coyle Long

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monrovia, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissad
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Just made it. Very tasty! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States