Creamy Baked Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
The ease of preparation and elegant simplicity make this dessert spectacular. That little bit of sugar and cream bakes into a lovely light caramel sauce which is just delectable when spooned over the baked pears. This is divine, and I would definitely serve this as a finish to an elegant dinner (heck, any dinner, even beans and franks!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Simply divine! I used plain old green pears, peeled off the skin and followed the instructions. It took much longer in the oven, probably because of the type of pear. Covered for half an hour and then uncovered and baked another 15 minutes. It looks so elegant too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This was a delicious dessert. Although it was covered in heavy cream, it still felt very light. I followed the recipe except I didn't quite use 1 tbsp of butter on the bottom of the pan, I just made sure it was coated very well. I ended up baking mine for an additional 10 minutes to get them tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious. Mine didn't turn out looking like they had caramel sauce on them like the photo, but they tasted great. I doubled the recipe for the number of people I was serving and added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg for a lightly spiced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
All I can say is Delicious!!! This was wonderful, I made it last night and everyone went nuts over it. I am making it again tonight for dessert. I have a ton of pears to use up so I will probably make it several times this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was really good. My son and I ate up. I loved the creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe is so easy and so delicious. I made it exactly as instruced and I am impressed. I wish I had taken a picture before we snarfed them up, because it is a pretty dessert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Do not cover after adding the cream or you will have a curdled pudding. And if you are using a different type of pear, add at least another 1/2 hour to baking depending on ripeness. Stay the course until the pears are tender...they release their full sugar potential. Truly amazing and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
FANTASTICALLY SIMPLE and unbelievably delicious. We had a dinner guest at short notice, so this became my quick desert. The previous reviewers were right on target. Delicious! I used the d'Anjou pears sitting on our counter (left the peel on) and the half and half in the fridge. I'm sure it would be even more decadent with cream, but beggars can't be choosers! I was so excited with the outcome: silky caramel sauce, tender and sweet pears, mmmmmmmm. Our guest was thrilled with this simply elegant dessert for his birthday away from home. I will share this with SO many people and make it many times again. Thanks Kaboom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Tried it tonight. Not worth doing this, was good but not worth time and trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States