Creamy Baked Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
The ease of preparation and elegant simplicity make this dessert spectacular. That little bit of sugar and cream bakes into a lovely light caramel sauce which is just delectable when spooned over the baked pears. This is divine, and I would definitely serve this as a finish to an elegant dinner (heck, any dinner, even beans and franks!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Do not cover after adding the cream or you will have a curdled pudding. And if you are using a different type of pear, add at least another 1/2 hour to baking depending on ripeness. Stay the course until the pears are tender...they release their full sugar potential. Truly amazing and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Simply divine! I used plain old green pears, peeled off the skin and followed the instructions. It took much longer in the oven, probably because of the type of pear. Covered for half an hour and then uncovered and baked another 15 minutes. It looks so elegant too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious. Mine didn't turn out looking like they had caramel sauce on them like the photo, but they tasted great. I doubled the recipe for the number of people I was serving and added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg for a lightly spiced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
FANTASTICALLY SIMPLE and unbelievably delicious. We had a dinner guest at short notice, so this became my quick desert. The previous reviewers were right on target. Delicious! I used the d'Anjou pears sitting on our counter (left the peel on) and the half and half in the fridge. I'm sure it would be even more decadent with cream, but beggars can't be choosers! I was so excited with the outcome: silky caramel sauce, tender and sweet pears, mmmmmmmm. Our guest was thrilled with this simply elegant dessert for his birthday away from home. I will share this with SO many people and make it many times again. Thanks Kaboom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This was a delicious dessert. Although it was covered in heavy cream, it still felt very light. I followed the recipe except I didn't quite use 1 tbsp of butter on the bottom of the pan, I just made sure it was coated very well. I ended up baking mine for an additional 10 minutes to get them tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
After reading all of the reviews and seeing how simple this was to make - I had to try it - it was amazing! agreed for any other pear you must bake a little longer I also added a teaspoon of good vanilla to the cream when I put it in. I told my boyfriend we were going to have this for dessert - after serving him a pear, he told me he had not thought the dessert would be that good - but he was pleasantly surprised and asked for a second one - to that one we added some roasted salted pecans for salty caramel and texture - a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe is so easy and so delicious. I made it exactly as instruced and I am impressed. I wish I had taken a picture before we snarfed them up, because it is a pretty dessert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Let me start by saying I do not like pears, but when reading this recipe I felt compelled to try it. Am I glad I did! Didn't change a thing other than to sprinkle a bit of cinnamon on top along with the sugar, but just a personal taste preference. Once they came out of the oven, I took one to my hubby and walked back to the kitchen to get mine. All I heard in the other room was "Wow!" Once I took a bite I knew what he meant! 2 weeks later I made these for dinner guests and they loved them as well. Great dessert that is light and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is wonderful! It took all of 3 minutes to wash and core my pears. I used red pears and left the skin on, rubbing it with butter made it very tender. I can't remember ever making such a simple dessert that presented so well and tasted as good. I will use a larger pan next time so get here is more contact with the cream, the caramel custard will get browner. Thanks, kaboom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States