Creamy Baked Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Let me start by saying I do not like pears, but when reading this recipe I felt compelled to try it. Am I glad I did! Didn't change a thing other than to sprinkle a bit of cinnamon on top along with the sugar, but just a personal taste preference. Once they came out of the oven, I took one to my hubby and walked back to the kitchen to get mine. All I heard in the other room was "Wow!" Once I took a bite I knew what he meant! 2 weeks later I made these for dinner guests and they loved them as well. Great dessert that is light and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Really easy and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was absolutely delicious and so simple to make. It would also be very good with just a dab of vanilla ice cream on top but the recipe is excellent just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I loved the simplicity of this. I used Red Anjou, they were a little more then ripe, so they were extra tender. To make it again I will probably use a touch of salt to bring out the flavor, and maybe vanilla extract like someone else did. Otherwise mine was pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Concan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is wonderful! It took all of 3 minutes to wash and core my pears. I used red pears and left the skin on, rubbing it with butter made it very tender. I can't remember ever making such a simple dessert that presented so well and tasted as good. I will use a larger pan next time so get here is more contact with the cream, the caramel custard will get browner. Thanks, kaboom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this last week, my husband and I loved it. So simple yet delicious. Just put some in the oven for dinner tonight. This is really a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Excellent, simple dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
After reading all of the reviews and seeing how simple this was to make - I had to try it - it was amazing! agreed for any other pear you must bake a little longer I also added a teaspoon of good vanilla to the cream when I put it in. I told my boyfriend we were going to have this for dessert - after serving him a pear, he told me he had not thought the dessert would be that good - but he was pleasantly surprised and asked for a second one - to that one we added some roasted salted pecans for salty caramel and texture - a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Tried it tonight. Not worth doing this, was good but not worth time and trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
FANTASTICALLY SIMPLE and unbelievably delicious. We had a dinner guest at short notice, so this became my quick desert. The previous reviewers were right on target. Delicious! I used the d'Anjou pears sitting on our counter (left the peel on) and the half and half in the fridge. I'm sure it would be even more decadent with cream, but beggars can't be choosers! I was so excited with the outcome: silky caramel sauce, tender and sweet pears, mmmmmmmm. Our guest was thrilled with this simply elegant dessert for his birthday away from home. I will share this with SO many people and make it many times again. Thanks Kaboom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States