Creamy Avocado Pesto - Delish! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Easy and yummy recipe! I doubled the garlic which added an extra kick. Didn't have any shrimp so I substituted with some shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very easy to make and really, really good. The only complaint was that the taste of the raw garlic was a bit overwhelming, and I only used the two cloves the recipe called for. I will definitely make this again, but will make it with roasted garlic, to see if that helps with the raw garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is so good! I only made the pesto to substitute guacamole. I did make some changes based on what I had......no basil, hence a little fresh and and some cilantro and no Romano, hence some mozzarella..... It tasted so fresh.....This recipe rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is an ingenius way to make pesto!! I actually modified it with some leftover garbanzo beans, which gave it an even more hearty texture. If you like avocado or guacamole even a little bit, you need to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We loved this. I did add some nuts to the food processor (I had pecans on hand...love the taste it added). My whole family loved this recipe. Tasted very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I thought it was delicious! I'm going to add more shrimp next time fore sure though. It took a while to blend and get smooth, but that was probably my blender's problem. The avocados also were not very soft (it's always touch and go at the Harris Teeter!) so I wrapped them in newspaper with two bananas (something bananas release into the air helps soften avocados) and they got a little softer. If they had been perfectly ripe, I'm sure this would have been doubly better! But it was really good-a great summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was excellent! I added about 1/4 cup of walnuts and a teaspoon or two of olive oil. I also used lime instead of lemon (as I didn't have a lemon) and kidney beans instead of chicken to keep it vegetarian. Yum! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Kock your socks off delicious! My guests were really impressed and thought I went to a lot of trouble! I sauteed shrimp in garlic and Old Bay and added at the very end. I also grilled asparagus, cut them up and added those as well and some sliced small hybrid tomatoes on top. It tasted and looked wonderful. Two things for the next time though: I'd put the mixture on the stove at a warm setting at the end while adding the shrimp and rest of the ingredients. Although the dish was warm at the beginning, it quickly cooed off. I would also add more seasoning - maybe more garlic and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I had just trimmed my basil plants, and was out of spinach, which I usually use to make pesto. I stumbled on this recipe in AR and really hit the jackpot. I am new to cooking with avocado and was amazed at the perfect texture it gave the pesto. The avocado gave it a nutty taste without having to actually used pine-nuts. The only change I made was I sauteed the shrimp and additional garlic in a few tablespoons of butter instead of adding the shrimp to the boiling penne. Then tossed in the drained pasta, pesto, Romano and a splash of leftover heavy cream and warmed it through. Easy, delicious, and aromatic. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Oh my...I rarely make a recipe and follow it to the letter, but this one I did not change a thing, it's a keeper...Avocado makes everything better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States