Creamy Avocado Pesto - Delish! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is an ingenius way to make pesto!! I actually modified it with some leftover garbanzo beans, which gave it an even more hearty texture. If you like avocado or guacamole even a little bit, you need to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Easy and yummy recipe! I doubled the garlic which added an extra kick. Didn't have any shrimp so I substituted with some shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is so good! I only made the pesto to substitute guacamole. I did make some changes based on what I had......no basil, hence a little fresh and and some cilantro and no Romano, hence some mozzarella..... It tasted so fresh.....This recipe rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe gets a big fat FIVE STARS. Absolutely delicious. I don't think I will ever, ever buy pesto from the store again... it just will not compare. I did not have Romano cheese, so used Parmesan. YUM! I did double the recipe and used a whole pound of shrimp. WONDERFUL! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsi Thibodeaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was excellent! I added about 1/4 cup of walnuts and a teaspoon or two of olive oil. I also used lime instead of lemon (as I didn't have a lemon) and kidney beans instead of chicken to keep it vegetarian. Yum! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We loved this. I did add some nuts to the food processor (I had pecans on hand...love the taste it added). My whole family loved this recipe. Tasted very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I thought it was delicious! I'm going to add more shrimp next time fore sure though. It took a while to blend and get smooth, but that was probably my blender's problem. The avocados also were not very soft (it's always touch and go at the Harris Teeter!) so I wrapped them in newspaper with two bananas (something bananas release into the air helps soften avocados) and they got a little softer. If they had been perfectly ripe, I'm sure this would have been doubly better! But it was really good-a great summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was delicious. The avocado made it very creamy. I also added black olives and used garbanzo beans instead of shrimp to make a vegetarian dish. I would definitely recommend using fresh romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very easy to make and really, really good. The only complaint was that the taste of the raw garlic was a bit overwhelming, and I only used the two cloves the recipe called for. I will definitely make this again, but will make it with roasted garlic, to see if that helps with the raw garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My first attempt at pesto and it came out so, so delicious! I did make a few changes to suit my family. I replaced the 2 cloves of raw garlic with an entire head of baked garlic. I took the advice of another commenter and added 1/4 C walnuts when adding the olive oil. So good and really easy. I can't wait to make this pesto again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States