Creamy Avocado Pesto - Delish! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is an ingenius way to make pesto!! I actually modified it with some leftover garbanzo beans, which gave it an even more hearty texture. If you like avocado or guacamole even a little bit, you need to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Easy and yummy recipe! I doubled the garlic which added an extra kick. Didn't have any shrimp so I substituted with some shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is so good! I only made the pesto to substitute guacamole. I did make some changes based on what I had......no basil, hence a little fresh and and some cilantro and no Romano, hence some mozzarella..... It tasted so fresh.....This recipe rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe gets a big fat FIVE STARS. Absolutely delicious. I don't think I will ever, ever buy pesto from the store again... it just will not compare. I did not have Romano cheese, so used Parmesan. YUM! I did double the recipe and used a whole pound of shrimp. WONDERFUL! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsi Thibodeaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was excellent! I added about 1/4 cup of walnuts and a teaspoon or two of olive oil. I also used lime instead of lemon (as I didn't have a lemon) and kidney beans instead of chicken to keep it vegetarian. Yum! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We loved this. I did add some nuts to the food processor (I had pecans on hand...love the taste it added). My whole family loved this recipe. Tasted very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I thought it was delicious! I'm going to add more shrimp next time fore sure though. It took a while to blend and get smooth, but that was probably my blender's problem. The avocados also were not very soft (it's always touch and go at the Harris Teeter!) so I wrapped them in newspaper with two bananas (something bananas release into the air helps soften avocados) and they got a little softer. If they had been perfectly ripe, I'm sure this would have been doubly better! But it was really good-a great summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was delicious. The avocado made it very creamy. I also added black olives and used garbanzo beans instead of shrimp to make a vegetarian dish. I would definitely recommend using fresh romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very easy to make and really, really good. The only complaint was that the taste of the raw garlic was a bit overwhelming, and I only used the two cloves the recipe called for. I will definitely make this again, but will make it with roasted garlic, to see if that helps with the raw garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My first attempt at pesto and it came out so, so delicious! I did make a few changes to suit my family. I replaced the 2 cloves of raw garlic with an entire head of baked garlic. I took the advice of another commenter and added 1/4 C walnuts when adding the olive oil. So good and really easy. I can't wait to make this pesto again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States