Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
More like 3.5 stars. It was easy to make, but it was a touch on the bland side. I'll probably make it again, but tinker with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
delish, sprinkled some Old Bay seasoning on there along with the salt and pepper. a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I love this recipe, it is super easy to make, I add whatever kind of cheese I have on hand and it is always fantastic. I always saute the onions with garlic and I slice my potatoes and boil them in a pot of water with salt until about halfway done, drain and then layer in the dish. This always cuts my cooking time and eliminates any uncooked potatoes. I also use this same recipe with the butter, flour, milk and cheese to make lots of other dishes..ex. using mozzarella and Parmesan, layered over Italian Sausage and Pasta, makes a mean pizza casserole!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were awesome. For the last 5 minutes of baking, I covered I took off the foil, covered the top in a layer of cheddar cheese, and turned the oven to broil. It gave the potatoes a nice crispy crust of cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I thought this recipe was great and easy!I substituted almond milk, and I do like a little kick to my food so I added 1/2 diced jalapeno and a few shakes of cayenne pepper,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this exactly as directed, using a pre-made mixture of cheddar and Monterey Jack cheese. Quick and easy to make, and it reheats nicely. Just add a little milk or cream to the leftovers, cover and bake at 350° for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally to blend the milk in with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Loved it and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I did a layer of potatoes, then onions, then large shrimp, then salt, pepper and creole seasoning, then another layer just like that. Then I made the sauce and poured it over the top then topped it with the rest of the cheese in the bag. Then I covered it with aluminum foil and cooked it on 375 for 1 1/2 hour. It was a one dish wonder!!! You can also add a layer of fresh spinach leaves to each layer to make it even more healthy or you can do a salad on the side. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it was very good resulting in the above rating. My better half really liked it a lot, but we decided to increase the sauce by 1/2 as suggested by other viewers. I live at 5500 feet. I have not been making this type of recipe since the potatoes always tasted a little bony. I got around this by microwaving my potatoes for 3 minutes and let them cool before slicing. I use my mandolin to slice my precooked potatoes as I find that there is more even cooking. It was very good. The second time I made this, I added some chopped green chili and some cut up ham. This made an awesome dinner for the two of us. So yummy!! I plan on trying it in the crockpot as others have suggested. One last thing...I make my cheese sauce in the microwave. I melt the butter in the container for 1 minute, add the flour and seasonings, whisking the butter and flour together. I then microwave that for one minute. Lastly I add the milk and slowly whisk that in. I then microwave this on high at 2 minute intervals for about six minutes until nice and thick. I then add the cheese and stir to incorporate. If the cheese is a little slow to melt, I will stick it back into the microwave for about 20 seconds. I do this in a large 4 cup microwave safe measuring cup which allows me to pour it onto the sliced potatoes. If you want to cook your onions, add them to the melted butter and microwave for about two minutes before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Loved it, made it again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States