Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe because of Himself's fondness for a similar dish in an upscale steakhouse in our area, and he likes this even better than theirs! I used a blend of five cheeses, and the only changes I made were slicing the potatoes MUCH thinner and adding a couple cloves of grated garlic to the cheese sauce. This will be our go-to special occasion side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I used this recipe as a guide for how much of each ingredient to use. I didn't have milk, so I replaced the whole white flour sauce process with a 16 ounce jar of store-bought alfredo sauce. Heated it up, added the cheese, then prepared as directed. It turned out really rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Amazing! I sliced the onions into really thin rings and they just melt into the dish. So yummy, total comfort food indulgence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
yum! going to make them "loaded" next, but the recipe as-is is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
It had absolutely no flavor besides cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Cannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
OMG, the best! Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Absolutely delious. I added crushed garlic to the cream sauce and took off the foil the last 15 min. of cooking to really brown that top. also sprinkled top of potatoes with parmesan cheese just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Morley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Baked at 400 for an hour than broiled uncovered for 10 minutes. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made a single potato in a 1.5 cup baking dish. Two servings, easily. I had trouble scaling the roux, but it worked out in the end. Following JMGINGRICH, I nuked the potato for 2 mins before assembling. Baked 30 min, uncovered: perfect. A bit bland, could have stood some serious garlic and hot sauce; those were added at table. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Always a winner - I've made it a lot and this has become my go-to recipe for au gratin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaNDenver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States