Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This recipe was very good, but I did feel it could use a little more spice.I would also put the potatoes in the oven a half hour before putting the cheese mixture on it Even so it was very tasty. It also seem more like a meal in some ways instead of a side dish, I think it could easily be turned into a one dish meal perhaps by adding some type of meat or fish to it. My family enjoy it and we decided it was a keeper and that we would have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I made this for a potluck my dautr Hannah was having at work. They were so awesome! I added cheese to only half. I want to try Gerilynn's suggestion to saute onions for a few minutes first and with some garlic. I love garlic, onions and cheese. YUMMY! Gonna make these tonite with a nice picnic ham on a rainy spring evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This was a big hit. I've done it in the oven and the crockpot - both great results. Only minced the onions because of finicky onion eaters at home. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
didnt like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
My family and I loved this casserole. Followed recipe exactly. Nice cheesy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made this using the exact ingredients as listed in the recipe. The only things I did differently were (1) chopped sweet Vidalia onions in the food processer and sprinkled on each layer of potatoes; (2) parboiled the potatoes in the microwave for 10 minutes before assembling casserole; and (3) added about 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, 1/4 tsp of onion powder to cheese sauce. I've made it twice this week, doubling the recipe each time. My husband thinks it's the bomb, his absolute favorite new dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unicoi, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Delicious! And one of the easier au gratin potato recipes I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I had some potatoes left and was wanting to use them up, but I didn't want to do the usual mashed or baked potatoes. I decided "hey I've never made au gratin potatoes before so I did an Internet search and this recipe popped up. I figured what the hell if it tasted bad I wasn't out anything but a few about to expire spuds. It was PHENOMENAL!!! Like previous raters I will never make boxed au gratin again! The only thing I did differently was I used Morton's season all instead of regular salt, diced the onions and cooed it at a lower temp for longer because I was making it with a meatloaf. I also took the foil of for the last 45 minutes to get some of the cheese to burn. If cooked at 400 degrees that may not be needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe! I didn't have an hour and a half to bake them so I boiled the potatoes for about 10-15 minutes before I sliced them, then changed the bake time to 45 minutes. But the rest of the recipe I followed exactly. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkey473

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
PRETTY FLAVORLESS EVEN USING SHARP CHEDDAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States