Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I ran out of salt and had no onions, so I sprinkled about 1/2 onion soup/dip packet over first and second layer. Just enough to lightly dust but cover all potatoes. Added a bit of garlic salt on top layer along with pepper. I also used Hawaiian salt in the sauce with 2 cups of cheese. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
great cheesy potatoes, we doubled it and it was yummy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Came out great! Grill/smoked a chicken on the big green egg. What a great side dish. I will say, adding jalapeños puts this dish on another level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Normand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe two times as written with good results. The potatoes really absorb the cheese sauce, so your potatoes may come out drier than you want. When I make this recipe again, I will double the cheese sauce as other reviewers have suggested and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
mmmmmmmm...mmmmmmmmmm...mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
The proportions are way off here. I had to use a 5 quart casserole dish, there was no way I could have fit more than 1 potato sliced in my 1 quart. Also, I needed twice the cheese sauce, probably more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki McMaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
These are delicious! I did half the recipe, as I didn't need a huge amount. It was just the right amount for one night! The only thing I added was bread crumbs mixed with melted butter to the top!! I am going to make them again tonight for dinner! Thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now, and i never get tired of it..absolutely just yummy! It is always a hit and even my picky 12 year old who will only eat potatoes if they're fries loves this dish! i usually make as recipe is indicated, but have substituted whatever cheese I have had on hand at the time...swiss and cheddar make a great pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It was delicious using sharp cheddar cheese which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I run my onions through my chopper, much better than rings. Also while saute'ing add a bit of garlic powder or garlic paste. I slice my potato's through my Moulinex. They are paper thin. I boil my potato's salted, half salt/half celery salt. The celery adds a very nice flavor. Bake covered, last 5 to 10 miutes uncover for browning. Since boiling, cuts down on bake time, and I bake at 325 for 1hr. I double the recipe, AWESOME leftover dish. Since the potato's are so thin, they are very cheesie. Have eaten these this way for 50 some years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States