Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Very scrummy indeed! I just added more cheese and added double cream and a pinch of dried rosemary and nutmeg. Then the last 15 minutes I removed the foil, and added breadcrumbs and parmesancrumbs. Absolutely Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made these for Easter this year, and when they came out of the oven they were beautiful, however, I then had to cook the ham, after I cooked the ham, I was going to 're warm these right before dinner, when that time came I looked at them and the beautifully golden potatoes were pale a weary looking. They tasted wonderful! Just be prepared to serve them right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The only changes I made were to add more cheese and less onions. I would have preferred more cheesy sauce, so next time will make a bit more and I only used two russet potatoes, but they were the baking ones, so they were really big. Otherwise, a really good & solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Just made the potatoes and they were great! I had some ham which I chopped up and sprinkled throughout the potatoes. It would have been even better with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. As per other reviewers I added a little extra cheese and diced up the onion fine instead of rings. I didn't use half an onion only a slice to give the potatoes a hint of onion which compliments the cheese and potato flavors. I baked the full 90 minutes and like others I did have some burnt potatoes on the bottom. (I used a glass pan so I should have reduced the oven heat as someone else recommended). Great flavor, easy preparation and husband loved it. I will be making these again. Next time I will add some garlic as others have suggested to kick it up a little. Hubby rated this recipe over Ree Drummond (The Pioneer Woman's) au gratin potato recipe which has been my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is a great simple recipe that anyone can make. It's the perfect accompaniment to all kinds of meat. I do occasionally switch it up a bit with green onions or different cheeses - and sometimes dill, which brings out the flavors of the cheese and onion. Of course, bacon or ham is fabulous too - just chop and cook it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie2010
Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I.give it 2 stars hubby gives it 5.stars i used velveeta he loved it. I like more flavor in my dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Oh my goodness!! So good! I followed the recipe pretty closely except I used about 8 red skinned potatoes instead of the russet and added a bit more cheese to the sauce. This will forever be my cheesy potato side dish of choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Instead of greasing the pan, I poured a tablespoon of melted butter with the salt and pepper and mixed the potatoes in a bowl prior to layering in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Fantastic. Sautéed onions with garlic to ease the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States