Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was really good. I didn't use onions, as the family and I are not fans, but I did use garlic. I very gently cooked the garlic in the roux until it was a light golden color. The potatoes turned out great, and everyone helped themselves to seconds (sometimes thirds). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Loved this and my hubby did too! I made just a few changes I made the sauce in one and a half servings and layered it with the potato's and didn't use any onions. I let them cook for the 45 minutes which according to mybhubby was slightly not enough time. Then I pulledbthem out 15 minutes before they were done and added cracked pepper garlic powder and a small handfull of cheese. Smash!! I also used whole wheat flour but that do not hurt the taste at all :) thank you for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casslovestocook
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I loved this recipe! I've made this dish with many different recipes but this one was by far the best. To speed up the cooking time, After I cut up the potatoes I cooked them in the microwave for 3 minutes. I also added GARLIC!!! Boyfriend was impressed ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiaMuffin
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Used everything but the onions. I also used a cheese grater slicer to cut my potatoes evenly since I read reviews that the thickness and consistency threw off the cooking time. This made about 4-5 layers of potatoes and cheese. My husband couldn't stop eating it and almost half of it was gone before he say down to eat dinner. It was a bit greasy because of the amount of cheese (I'm sure I used more than the recipe called for) but it was worth it (plus with baked chicken...it evens out, right) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this as written and loved it! Then I went back to read the reviews, to see what others thought. I was fine with the onion rings until I read everyone saying how slimy they were, now I think I'll be mincing mine, too, in the future. lol I had a heavy hand with the cheese and thought it was really good!! This recipe will make it to my table again, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Karen Parker Powers
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made this for dinner the other night had the in-laws over everybody absolutely loved it wanted my recipe thank you!! I will be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Turned out perfect just as written! I doubled it and baked in a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My husband and I are in love with this recipe. I tweaked it only to add a bit of pepper and garlic powder in the onion layer, and I left out the salt, and it was absolutely amazing. It's his new favourite dish and he asks for it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have made these several times now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. Now I change up the cheeses here and there depending on what I have on hand. My family loves them. My 14 year old son asks for them at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe. Everyone ate seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States