Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Good but needs more salt. I made this from my aunts birthday (gave you credit) and it turned out good. I added more salt. But I'm playing with it a bit for Easter different cheese and some more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was good. I did saute the onions before adding, and then made two layers of potatoes, onion, cheese sauce. Since I had it in the oven with a ham, I baked it for two hours at 325 degrees. My family liked it, even two who told me they didn't like au gratin potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made it exactly as directed. Disappeared. That's all I have to say:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very nice side dish, I made it exactly as stated except I cut the onion slices in quarters to get better coverage. I had it as a side with pork chops, and it was both filling and a very tasty side dish. I will make this again for sure. It was very easy to put together in about 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
The best Au Gratin Potato recipe ever! Made this last night and LOVED it! Like other reviewers, I medium diced the onion and used 1 1/2 times the sauce recipe. I doubled the cheese to 3 cups. I also added 2 tsp. of dry mustard powder to the sauce. I used about 2 pounds of potatoes, and a 9X13 well-buttered baking dish, since the increased sauce would mean it wouldn't fit into a one quart pan. I baked it, covered with foil for one hour at 375 and then uncovered it for another 20-30 minutes. It browned really nicely. Planning to make this again for a family Easter dinner next week! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Excellent and easy to make. No more box mix for this household. I followed directions as written with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
More like 3.5 stars. It was easy to make, but it was a touch on the bland side. I'll probably make it again, but tinker with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
delish, sprinkled some Old Bay seasoning on there along with the salt and pepper. a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I love this recipe, it is super easy to make, I add whatever kind of cheese I have on hand and it is always fantastic. I always saute the onions with garlic and I slice my potatoes and boil them in a pot of water with salt until about halfway done, drain and then layer in the dish. This always cuts my cooking time and eliminates any uncooked potatoes. I also use this same recipe with the butter, flour, milk and cheese to make lots of other dishes..ex. using mozzarella and Parmesan, layered over Italian Sausage and Pasta, makes a mean pizza casserole!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were awesome. For the last 5 minutes of baking, I covered I took off the foil, covered the top in a layer of cheddar cheese, and turned the oven to broil. It gave the potatoes a nice crispy crust of cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States