Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner to go with ham. It definitely could have used some spicing up. I had added a dash of red pepper and topped it with Paprika, but it still didn't have much flavor. I want to try it again - different cheese perhaps, or maybe different potatoes. I'll have to think on this some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It was good but a little greasy on top. Will try this again with less potato, stay with the 2 quart casserole and allow the milk and cheese sauce to cook a little longer before pouring over the potatoes and more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It's very good, but too much onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
The recipe was good. I used a a spicy cheese mix and it gave it a unique flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These were blah and very soupy. Took much longer to cook and you must remove the foil at least ½ hour or more for top to brown. I also chopped the onion and added fresh garlic but still blah. Like eating mac and cheese but with potatoes. Just not a mac and cheese kind of gal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Used what I had in my fridge. In addition to regular potatoes, I sliced two yams. And instead of regular milk, I used 1.5 C soy milk and .5 C labne. Talk about comfort food! Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Having never made this from scratch, I experimented with different cheeses as suggested (Kraft Triple Cheddar). Not a good move. The Vermont and Sharp Cheddar didn't melt well, which I should have known, and the sauce was gritty because of that. The flavor other wise was definitely there. I would definitely use just a mild Cheddar or other soft cheese next time. Also a larger baking pan. Mine ran over and what a smokey mess! I will definitely hold onto to this recipe and make it again. Beats the boxed stuff and not really hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made these for Christmas dinner to go along with our ham. Since my family and I like cheesy potatoes I decided to add in a can of Campbell's Cheese soup. That was the only thing different, as well as like tripling the recipe, that I changed and I think this made all the difference. I will definitely be making these again and again. In fact my 12 y/o and I snuck down for more later that evening for a midnight snack! This will be my go to au gratin potatoes recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
OH so amazingly delicious..TY making it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blythe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Pretty good. Made per instructions. Hubby said they needed more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States