Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was a great starting point to which I added bread crumbs for a top layer and substituted 2c of milk for cream. Felt that it could have used more flavor, but I might not have used enough salt. Next time I will cut the potatoes thinner than 1/4", and add pan toasted shallots, or crumbled bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
We've been looking for a great Au Gratin potato recipe and finally found it! Per Emily91183, we doubled the cheese sauce and added the cheese sauce in between the layers of cheese...naturally, we also added bacon - turned out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I don't like potatoes (and must be the only person on the planet who doesn't) but have FINALLY found a recipe I like! Had to use cream (as the boyfriend had thoughtfully drank up all the milk "to save it from going bad" only 30 mins before I started to cook) but if anything the recipe was tastier, albeit unhealthier. Cream makes everything taste good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
i have made this recipe a few times and what i changed was dicing the onions small so they disapear in the au gratin..also i add a little garlic powder to the mixture it made a big difference in flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is one of the first if not the first time I have posted a review for a recipe. It was so Unbelievably good I couldn't help but comment. First off I almost always make a recipe exactly as written the first time. I will alter per my family's personal tastes. I used diced red onion because that is what I had and I added 1/2 C. Cheddar to my sauce. As predicted it took 2 1/2 hours to cook properly. I knew it would from experience with potatoes. I don't mind the extra time involved but next time might go with the suggestion from earlier views. Personally I think it needed a lot more salt or salt like seasonings. That is something that can be added at the table as peoples salt preference varies so much. Wonderful recipe review worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lks
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was very yummy, but I really thought I'd miss the crunchy top of bread crumbs, so I crumbled up some buttery crackers and sprinkled on top for the last 20 minutes. It was really good! Also, next time I would add a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a good base recipe. I'm not a fan of onions, so I omit them. Also, in reading other recipes, I came across a short cut as 1 1/2 hours of cooking time is just too long for me. I par-cook the sliced potatoes in boiling salted water for 3-4 minutes, drain them, then layer them with salt & pepper between the layers, then bake for about 45-50 minutes. The best was when I used Emmental cheese, it was fabulous! I've also used this recipe with par-cooked cauliflower when I want something with less carbs, but with that I add a pizza chain packet of red peppers for a bit of a kick. Really good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Calistoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Pretty good! A good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
MAde these a couple of times, my boyfriend loved them, and I loved them too. Great to stick in the oven and cook with a baked chicken so they may be done around the same time while you clean the kitchen. Makes a great cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingKathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Absolutely successful with the family!!! It's one of their favorites. Mine too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States