Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My family loves Au Gratin potatoes. I don't like serving them processed foods so I'm always looking for good fresh recipes. This one is a winner! I followed the recipe exactly and the dish turned out perfectly! We have it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this recipe as is and it was amazing! I loved making my own cheesy sauce. My whole family loved it. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious!! I left out the onions, sautéed a little garlic in the butter before I added the flour, grated a bit of fresh nutmeg into the sauce and used sharp cheddar. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this twice and it was good except when I used red potatoes instead of russet it turned out better. I'm not sure exactly why but the red potatoes tasted better. So I will make again and use them. Beside from that wonderful recipe and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have to say this recipe was a great start point for an amazing scalloped potatoes dish. I was a little hesitant, since i am not a big fan of scalloped potatoes. Any i have had in the past have been bland and soupy. I liked this recipe because of it's simplicity. I modified it very little. I did butter the glass dish i used to baked these VERY well, the potatoes came out easily. i used an 8x11.5x2 i used 6 large red potatoes. first a layer of potatoes, that i cut a little thinner than 1/4inch. I did use onions, I sliced them the same way i did the potatoes, only into thinner, 1/8th inch discs. i then separated the layers of the discs and placed them in a sparse layer atop the potatoes. I used roughly 1 1/2- 2 of the four slices for this layer. I wanted the onions to just add flavor, not to play a major part of the dish. then another layer of potatoes, which i topped with salt and pepper then a layer of provolone slices. i started my layering over. Atop this i added sharp cheddar slices, not provolone. a sauce that uses milk, WILL break and separate if you are not careful, i took my time. 3 cups of milk, let that WARM, then add about 1/3 cup of flour to which i added a VERY healthy dose of Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash, I let this thicken some then added 2 cups shredded Colby Jack cheese. i continued stirring til the cheese had completely melted, the sauce thickened nicely. add to the potatoes until sauce just covers them. Mine were done in time and very tasty. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was a very good side dish the first night we had it, but as leftovers it was spectacular!! I would only change one thing and that is to chop the onions and saute them before adding to the sliced potatoes. Great suggestion to microwave the sliced potatoes for 8 minutes to cut down on baking time from JMGINGRICH. I did that, because I had to put it in the oven with the ham and couldn't bake it at 400°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I never like the boxed au gratin potatoes, but my husband loved them. I figured maybe I just didn't like the boxed ones so I figured I'd try to make them homemade and I'm so glad I did because they were delicious and my husband never wants boxed au gratin potatoes EVER AGAIN! thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Update: After my initial review I reread the recipe and realized I'd changed the ingredients per the reviews. NOT the recipes fault that it didn't turn out as expected. Since then I watched the video & will try it again using regular yellow cheddar. We might like that better. Plus I used 1 1/2 recipe of the sauce. Probably because someone said it didn't have enough sauce. The reheated leftovers tasted better than the day I made the dish but I still want to prepare according to the directions given. I'm sure that will elevate it to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These potatoes are always a hit; really a nice comfort food. I found that I can really cut back on the cooking time by microwaving at 60% power until the sauce starts to boil, then finish in the oven. They'll look and taste the same including the browned crust but in much less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This had a great taste and my hubby loved these. However, I went the way of the crockpot - because the oven was completely full - and the crockpot required several more hours of cooking than what I planned. All together I think they cooked 6 hours on high. If you are cooking these in the crockpot - be sure to allow enough time, so your meal can be ready on time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States