Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
The proportions are way off here. I had to use a 5 quart casserole dish, there was no way I could have fit more than 1 potato sliced in my 1 quart. Also, I needed twice the cheese sauce, probably more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki McMaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
These are delicious! I did half the recipe, as I didn't need a huge amount. It was just the right amount for one night! The only thing I added was bread crumbs mixed with melted butter to the top!! I am going to make them again tonight for dinner! Thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now, and i never get tired of it..absolutely just yummy! It is always a hit and even my picky 12 year old who will only eat potatoes if they're fries loves this dish! i usually make as recipe is indicated, but have substituted whatever cheese I have had on hand at the time...swiss and cheddar make a great pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It was delicious using sharp cheddar cheese which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I run my onions through my chopper, much better than rings. Also while saute'ing add a bit of garlic powder or garlic paste. I slice my potato's through my Moulinex. They are paper thin. I boil my potato's salted, half salt/half celery salt. The celery adds a very nice flavor. Bake covered, last 5 to 10 miutes uncover for browning. Since boiling, cuts down on bake time, and I bake at 325 for 1hr. I double the recipe, AWESOME leftover dish. Since the potato's are so thin, they are very cheesie. Have eaten these this way for 50 some years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Okay I kind of used this recipe, but added to it. I used my heavy steel casserole dish so instead of following quantities I layered the pot with potatoes, salt pepper and spanish onions (4 little ones slices thinly and broken apart into rings) until it was full. I then made the sauce, using not cheddar but strong hard cheese. The quantity didn't look enough so I melted 1/3 tub Philly cream cheese in the mixture and made a smooth paste of 1Tbspn cornflower and milk, then added another cup of milk to the cornflower and added it to the pan. I poured it over the potatoes and added parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Delicious, wonderful. My husband loves it, i omitted the onions for his tastes and used powder instead. amazing when combining cheeses as well. just use up whatevers in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The only change I make is to saute the onions first and also add a garlic clove (sauteed with onions). Wonderful potato dish but also make only occasionally because it is so rich. Never any problems with people complaining!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Hotz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I found the overall taste too bland the last time I made this. This time I changed it up. 1 cup milk ,1- 1/2 cups 10% cream. I heated the milk/cream alone and added 2 whole garlic cloves, 1 tsp sage, 1 tsp thyme and let it warm up gently for about 20 mins then strained the herbs out and let it cool. I used the onions but caramelized them ahead of time. when layering the potato/cheese sauce I added some jalapeno Havarti and about a tbsp parmesan on each layer. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay Kuchiak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States